Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
You aren't kidding-right on the mark.

#454253 - 07/02/18 02:31 PM Re: BYE BYE CD's..... [Re: Dnj]
tony mads usa Offline

Loc: East Greenwich RI USA
Originally Posted By Dnj
It is about time, stop living in the past,
...let's move on the future is exiting,
I'm happy to be alive in these times of technological progress ...

Donny, my post isn't about living in the past, or not embracing the technology of the future, but rather, the affect it has on people's livelihood ...
In my '9-5' (there really never was such a thing) 45 year business career I was on the cutting edge of computer technology - going from IBM punch cards to data entry systems to main frame computers to desk top PCs to laptops ... and being an Operations Manager I had to be innovative and embrace and utilize the 'latest and greatest' along the way ... but all those innovations came with the price of deep staff reductions, as retraining and repositioning of people only works for some ... there was always an unfortunate number who were left with nothing ...
That's why I don't always jump for joy when I hear things like the Best Buy announcement ...
PS: It's also why I refuse to use a 'self-checkout' register in any store - at least until they start paying me to do it ...
Enough of my rant for today ...
Have a great day ...

#454254 - 07/02/18 02:49 PM Re: BYE BYE CD's..... [Re: Dnj]
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
(re: Bill's (Abacus) post)

But as long as we worship at the (arranger) alter and wait with baited breath for the next new even-more-automatic arranger to come out, aren't we contributing to the problem.....you know, the one we all acknowledge but are too lazy (or complacent) to change.