SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#438742 - 10/08/17 11:54 AM Re: Be gentile ... it's my first time [Re: Uncle Dave]
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
... and THIS is why I love this place. Thanks!
With regard to the power issue - I never shout, never growl, don't watch hockey, or scream at my kids ... always use good monitors (IN MY FACE), and try to warm up the pipes before I sing. That last one is tough because I rarely STOP singing. lol
My warmup is all day long. I think I may have lost a pitch, or two at the top of my range, but the power is usually there when I need it. I attribute my best singing lessons to my clarinet lessons. Breathing and support is what it's all about. Learning a wind instrument can teach you that better than most vocal coaches. My theater experience taught me to sing to the back row of the room, so projection has always been important to me. Pays off, too.

So, thanks for the feedback - I'm getting ready to hit the road for my big "comeback" night. Wish me luck!
(fingers crossed)

#438743 - 10/08/17 12:05 PM Re: Be gentile ... it's my first time [Re: Uncle Dave]
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
As a matter of fact, what little singing technique I have is most likely carry over from breath control when playing trumpet. I was really good at that, in another life and time. I'm not in your league Dave, and I always learn from listening to you, when you sing and when you "speak".

#438750 - 10/08/17 03:26 PM Re: Be gentile ... it's my first time [Re: DonM]
bruno123 Online   content

Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Dave when I used my guitar or the Korg MicroArranger I put my mic into the Touch Voice Live – then into the voice channel of my Bose. My instrument went into the second channel of the Bose.

For some reason I was getting a much better sound than using the Pa900 for my mic. It seem fuller – but more wires and stuff to carry.

John C.