SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#43718 - 01/29/06 04:01 AM midi-ing 2 boards
runner50 Offline

Loc: Geneva
I have a roland pf2 and Kn6 that I would like to midi together. The roland would be my master so I maintain the touch and feel of an acoustic, and the kn6 would be the slave. Is there any of you that have tried to connect these 2 boards? Cant seem to setup the roland...and keep the settings. This is my first time using 2 boards midi'd.

Thank you for any help!!

MikeF

#43719 - 01/29/06 10:34 AM Re: midi-ing 2 boards
Audrey Turner Offline

Loc: Cambridge, Cambs, England
Hi Mike,

Many moons ago, I bought the Roland E86 and it was a very good keyboard but oh! so hard to setup with my KN650 keyboard, so I phoned the shop and they sent their young man round to do it for me.

First, I had to say which would be my 'Master' keyboard (in my case the Technics) he then matched the MIDI CHANNELS of the two instruments (using the two Manufacturers Manuals). When he had done all the necessary work, he saved it in SMF format to Floppy Disk in the Roland. The disk was left in the Roland Floppy Drive which was activated as soon as the two keyboards were switched on. This was fine if I wanted to play the two together but what would I do if I only wanted to play the KN or the Roland separately I wanted to know. The answer? "whichever keyboard you want to use, turn the volume down on the other" was his reply. At the time, I thought he might be a little 'eccentric' but it worked just fine. Sometimes simplicity is the best route to go down.

However, because technology has advanced so much, it might be even easier now.

Hope this helps.

Aud (U.K.

[This message has been edited by Audrey Turner (edited 01-29-2006).]

#43720 - 01/29/06 10:40 AM Re: midi-ing 2 boards
runner50 Offline

Quote:
Originally posted by runner50: