SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#429941 - 03/17/17 12:44 PM Ledger lines - what a pain!
Anthony Johnson Offline

Loc: Sheffield Yorkshire England
Wondered if there are many like me who struggle to read ledger lines on sheet music.
I taught myself to read (and to play) and have been having a go at a new piece these last couple of days.

Despite being self taught, I read quite well considering and automatically play what I read without having to think about it but, the moment I go above A on the first ledger line, I have to think about each note.
My present piece goes up to 4 ledger lines and, having suffered with quite a lot of bars in a row above the first ledger line and also hindered by old eyes, I have had to resort to a ledger line drawing to speed me up a little.
I know there are many good professional musicians on the forum but are there many like me who find it hard work.
Also any tips from the properly taught pros?
Tony

#429942 - 03/17/17 01:02 PM Re: Ledger lines - what a pain! [Re: Anthony Johnson]
Jerryghr Offline

Loc: Buffalo, NY
There are quite a few YOUTUBE videos on the subject.

Here is one with some hints to remember the order.

Regards,

Jerryghr

#429943 - 03/17/17 01:35 PM Re: Ledger lines - what a pain! [Re: Anthony Johnson]
Bachus Offline

Using 8 v.a. And other options to change an octave work well, yet some publicists indeed prefer ledger lines..

Its a reason i prefer real sheet music versus the normal ipad... its just to small on the ipad (unless you have the 12" version.. keep struggling reading them on the ipad, but not on most sheet music..

http://keyszone.boards.net

#429944 - 03/17/17 05:31 PM Re: Ledger lines - what a pain! [Re: Anthony Johnson]
bruno123 Offline

Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Bachus I am using OnSong and RealBook apps with Ipad sky 2 9.7 inches. Changing from vertical to horizontal makes a big difference; lyrics and notes are larger – easy to read.