SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#41136 - 11/01/07 07:00 PM SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
Dziubusl Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/14/06
Posts: 5
Loc: Mount Prospect, IL 60056
Hi,

I'm in the process of transfering all MIDI's from my Yamaha PSR8000 to SD(1Gb)to use on my KN7000. Using the KN7000 for that it's time consuming process (renaming files, folders etc.) and, as you know can't be done on PC. I'm ready to buy SD-TechManager7000 from Keysoft Service (149)or KN-SDExplorer from www.vision-4-life.nl.(44.95). Are they both do the same job basically or there's a different. I'm new on this forum - anybody's expertise I would greatly appreciate it!

Top
#41137 - 11/02/07 01:16 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4721
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Do you mean MIDI's converted to to Yamaha format ?

Generic SMF files can be read by virtually anything, and transferred by a pc. SD Explorer doesn't handle MIDI unless they have been converted to Technics format.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#41138 - 11/02/07 04:35 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
lahawk Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/28/01
Posts: 2257
Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
If using a new card, the best way is to format the SD card on the 7000, and save a file on the keyboard. On the computer, drag and drop the midis you want into the Sound (midi) Folder.

Bernie is correct. SD Explorer is for the default save Technic File

The midis if recorded on the PSR-8000 will probably need tweaking as all keyboards interpret sounds differently in the file.

Good luck

------------------
Larry
SynthZone Frapper
_________________________
Larry

" Always Do Whatever's Next "

Top
#41139 - 11/02/07 05:14 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
lahawk Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/28/01
Posts: 2257
Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
On second thought, I may stand corrected.

I don't have the 7000 in front of me to try, but I don't believe you can drag and drop midi files from your computer to an SD Card, and have them appear on the 7000.

I may be wrong, but the sure way is to have the midi files on a floppy and save to SD on the 7000.



------------------
Larry
SynthZone Frapper
_________________________
Larry

" Always Do Whatever's Next "

Top
#41140 - 11/02/07 06:51 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
technicsplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/17/02
Posts: 3319
all you need to do is create a folder in the root of the sd card and name it IMEXPORT, copy the *.mid files there. Then go to the sd menu, sd tools, sd sound tools and use the sd sound import function to arrange the midis you select from the list into playlists which you can name and save. If you copy in bunches of eventual wanted playlists then just select all to save time. When done you can delete the original midis in the imexport folder to save space on the card.

The keysoft techmanager can load midis to sd on the pc as well as re-arrange end edit the midi playlists etc. Sd-explorer does not handle midis.

Top
#41141 - 11/02/07 08:21 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
Dziubusl Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/14/06
Posts: 5
Loc: Mount Prospect, IL 60056
Thanks all of you for quick reply.
Bernie9 and Larry:
- The SD is already formatted (can be done on KN7000 or SD-Jukebox). The midi's from Yamaha are in GM format and can be read by KN7000 and store on SD card. That i know. The ball game is renaming them again using the KN7000 instead the PC. Basically, I didn't know that SD Explorer does not handle midis.
Technicsplayer: Thanks for your expertise - that I didn't know (as always you're the guru)!!. Anyyway, looks like I have to go w/Techmanager7000 (not cheap!!!).

Top
#41142 - 11/02/07 11:17 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
lahawk Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/28/01
Posts: 2257
Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Thanks Alec,
I forgot about the IMEXPORT trick.
I should have known, as I used it before, and it's in your book.
Larry
_________________________
Larry

" Always Do Whatever's Next "

Top
#41143 - 11/02/07 06:37 PM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
Dziubusl Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/14/06
Posts: 5
Loc: Mount Prospect, IL 60056
Your right, Larry, it's in Alec's book, somehow I've overlooked. But there's another thing. I was so naive thinking that the Techmanager7000 is easy to buy. Keysoft Service is out of business, the SD-Service@keysoftservice.ch email is dead, the other one, keysoftservice@t-online.de (german) is probably dead too(I've sent request - didn't get an error back). On Keysoftservice page is only message:
"Due to the cessation of production of Technics musical instruments before 3 years now KEY SERVICE SOFT your business by 31-12-2006.
For Activations contact now exclusively info@keysoftservice.ch or download the Keygenerator just myself down." (automatic translation from german).

If anyone have a copy of the Techmanager7000 and maybe the plugin (7001), I'm ready to buy. Or if you know where it can be obtained I would greatly appreciate it!

Best Regards,

Jack

Top
#41144 - 11/03/07 12:20 PM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
lahawk Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/28/01
Posts: 2257
Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Jack,

Good Luck finding Techmanager7000

By the way, if you have more than 99 midis
in IMEXPORT, and you import ALL in the 7000, it will import the FIRST 99 only. If you want 100-199, you have to first EXPORT the first 99. or maybe there's another easier way...not sure, can't find Alec's Book.

Why did Technics make such a complicated OS? (IMO)
Maybe the KN8000 would have been more user friendly, like a Yamaha, where you can save as many midis as you want to a card, and play them on the keyboard. No Import, Export, Playlist, etc.

Oh Well...



------------------
Larry
SynthZone Frapper
_________________________
Larry

" Always Do Whatever's Next "

Top
#41145 - 11/04/07 03:48 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
technicsplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/17/02
Posts: 3319
you can have 999 midis on the sd card with 99 playlists, with each playlist having 99 songs, so just import the next batch of midis.

Yes, the KN8000 would have been much better but playlists are an incredibly easy way to organise midis since they use virtually zero space up on the card but give many possibilities of playback order, and far superior to a simple file list or folder organisation, since a folder list might be thought equivalent to a playlist, but many playlists can have many selections from different folders without having to duplicate midis in each folder which would be really significant wasted space on the card.

The existing structure was limited by having to cater for backwards compatibility with previous generations of floppy disks and 8 (realistically 6) character names while providing an internal system for longer more useful names. And naturally the KN8000 would have had to be compatible with 7k sd cards

Top
#41146 - 11/04/07 06:15 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
lahawk Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/28/01
Posts: 2257
Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
I have 600 midis in IMEXPORT
I select import, all, and the keyboard imports 1-99. Fine, takes awhile, but it works.

How do I then select the next batch 100-199? Will the 7000 automatically select the next group of 99? (100-199)

The keyboard is not in the same location as my computer, and it makes it difficult. I need to get a laptop, and I need to find the 'How To' book

I would argue some that it's an incredibly easy way to organize midis. There is a slight learning curve in using IMIMPORT, IMEXPORT, naming folders, SET button, and on and on..At least for me it is

Anyway thanks for the help...I'll get it yet!




------------------
Larry
SynthZone Frapper
_________________________
Larry

" Always Do Whatever's Next "

Top
#41147 - 11/04/07 01:36 PM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
technicsplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/17/02
Posts: 3319
Quote:
Originally posted by lahawk:

How do I then select the next batch 100-199?


delete the first 99 you just copied from imexport, they are a waste of space anyway since have been copied to the sd_sound folder elsewhere on the card... and can be exported back to the imexport folder as midis again if you so wish later.

Top
#41148 - 11/04/07 03:53 PM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
lahawk Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/28/01
Posts: 2257
Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Yes ...success !
Not that difficult after all.
Thanks Alec
Larry
_________________________
Larry

" Always Do Whatever's Next "

Top
#41149 - 11/05/07 01:23 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
technicsplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/17/02
Posts: 3319
you're very welcome

Top
#41150 - 11/05/07 06:00 PM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
Dziubusl Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/14/06
Posts: 5
Loc: Mount Prospect, IL 60056
Larry,

Thanks for good luck w/the TechManager7000. So far, no luck w/the search. Looks like nobody wants to sell the copy of the program, even if the original company is out of business so there's no legal issue. Basically, it's not about copy the midis but renaming them again. During the copy from Yamaha to floppy midi being renamed to something like "Song0001" so it must be renamed again in KN7000 (by the way,directories and midis in Yamaha are organized in similar manner, however the PSR8000 is few years older than KN7000, it's probably simplified now in Tyros). Renaming few hundreds midis using KN7000 may takes forever. Maybe I should posted this as a separate subject, I don't know. By the way, for you loptop and TechManager7000 will be also the good solution. The 'How To' book is out of print but if you need I may scan the pages (takes a while) and sent you as .pdf files. I've seen in the forum (Dec.30/2006) that somebody already tried to buy TechManager7000, don't know - successfully or not. Anyway, I'm still looking.

Jack

Top
#41151 - 11/06/07 05:27 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
lahawk Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/28/01
Posts: 2257
Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Jack,
I was going to send you a personal message, but you have no email listed in your profile.
Larry
_________________________
Larry

" Always Do Whatever's Next "

Top
#41152 - 11/06/07 09:12 AM Re: SD-TechManager7000 vs. KN-SDExplorer
Dziubusl Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/14/06
Posts: 5
Loc: Mount Prospect, IL 60056
Larry,

It's being fixed. Sorry,

Jack

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online