SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#38387 - 01/31/02 12:30 AM Help a new beginner please
Mosiqaar Offline

Loc: Atlanta, GA, USA
I am starting to build a new home studio so any comments or lessons would be greatly appreciated.

Here is a specific question. How do I save a musical that I sequence on CakeWalk or Logic Audio as an MP3 file? My final goal is to put some of my music as demos on my website. Please be detailed as I am still a rookie in this field.

Thanks.

#38388 - 01/31/02 01:04 AM Re: Help a new beginner please
Nigel Offline
Admin

Loc: Ventura CA USA
It depends a lot on what sound sources you are using. If you are just using internal sounds you can simply run a cable from your soundcard output to your soundcard input and record a WAV file that you can then convert to MP3. If you are using external sounds ie. modules or keyboards, then you would need to run them into a mixing board and then connect the stereo output of the mixer to the input on your soundcard and then record a WAV file.

#38389 - 02/01/02 02:12 AM Re: Help a new beginner please
Mosiqaar Offline

Hi Nigel and thank you for the reply. Ok the way I have been recording so far is going through my Midi's on my keyboards onto the dedicated serial port on my sound card (its a cable that has one end with midi in and midi out, and the other end is a 16 (I think) pin serial end). I am using cakewalk as the sequencer, but when I try to save the file types available are .mid or cakewalk file formats, I cannot save as wav or as mp3. So can you please elaborate on your answer? Also, once you tell me how to save as wav, then how do I convert it to mp3? Is there a software for that? if so where do I get it?
SOrry for the two many questions, and thanks for everyone's help.

#38390 - 02/02/02 11:16 AM Re: Help a new beginner please
Anonymous
Unregistered