SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
#381177 - 01/11/14 12:47 PM I had my guitar theory lesson last night ...
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
Meaning: I played with that band of older fellas that teach me SO much each time I go out with them. I'm the baby of the group at 58 (by almost 20 years!), and I feel like I should be paying them for letting me study on the bandstand. I'm the token "Rocker" because of vocals (and SOME guitar stuff), and the set list, while standard ... is like taking a theory lesson every song. As a guitarist, I rarely played with a keyboard player over the years - lemme tell ya - it's a challenge to re-voice chords to stay out of his way! Add the facts that I'm transposing and trying to sing at the same time and you have another "sunny day in Philadelphia."

I'm very grateful that they put up with my fumbling ... sometimes I feel like I'm playing with mittens on.
smile
My standard approach to solo guitar has always been to fill up the spaces and make all the rhythm ... not so in the band scenario. I have to accent different beats, fill in little signature licks (Johnny B Goode, Rock around the Clock etc) and it's very challenging. After 40 years of mostly running the show, it's a pleasure to not have to drive the bus ... so to speak.

I'm posting this to remind us all to step out of our comfort zone once in a while and experience the thrill of experimentation, and creativity in a new way. Whatever way that is - it's a task well worth the effort.

Last night, 2 of the 4 of us had a digital harmonizer attached to our mics ... me and the keyboardist - MAN, was THAT FUN! We did some things that sounded like the cast of Les Miz was behind us. My harmonies were triggered by the guitar chords and the keyboard guy has a Korg PA1xPro with a TC built in. So ... let's count - 4 live singers, 2 in my pedalboard and 3 more in Paul's Korg. We had a nine piece vocal ensemble going at times!