SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#377453 - 12/08/13 07:51 AM Re: Is a Singer a Musician ? [Re: deb]
brickboo Offline

Loc: Fruita, Colorado, USA
When I was shopping keyboards to try the OMB thingy, a fellow from Australia helped me a bunch. Somewhere along our conversation, relationship he referred to himself as not being a musician. He said, I'm not a musician, I'm a drummer." LOL!

I always considered someone who played a musical instrument, and knew music in the form of musical notes, or chord theory etc., a musician.

Someone who sings and especially who sings and doesn't know a Bb from a K7th is not a musician but is known as a vocalist. We had an excellent Vocalist in my first band in 1857 for the R&R we played. He was one of the best I've worked with. However, he didn't even know what key he was singing in. Would anyone who is a musician call him a musician? Think about it!

Ray Charles was a Vocalist and one of the top musicians on earth. Frank Sinatra referred to him as, "The only genius in our business." The best vocalist are usually musicians with a few exceptions. By the way Nat Cole and Frank Sinatra both played piano, so they were musicians too.

Edited by brickboo (12/08/13 07:57 AM)

#377455 - 12/08/13 08:06 AM Re: Is a Singer a Musician ? [Re: brickboo]
Marcus Offline

Loc: Canada
One who composes, conducts, or performs music, especially instrumental music.

Drumming On A Fat Man

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nwn46pnNZqY

Guy Plays A Cat Organ (BBC)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxEHi6Mlzmk

#377456 - 12/08/13 08:16 AM Re: Is a Singer a Musician ? [Re: brickboo]
btweengigs Offline

Loc: Florida, USA
Originally Posted By: brickboo
We had an excellent Vocalist in my first band in 1857 for the R&R we played.

Geez Boo....So Bill Haley and Little Richard did NOT invent R&R?
Picturing you playing R&R seems a bit of a stretch...even back in 1857. Or maybe Jazz hadn't been invented yet.
smile