SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#374196 - 11/04/13 08:23 AM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: 124]
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 43703
Originally Posted By: 124
Dave, as the 'stuck note' is sounding, hold 'shift' and press the 'start/stop' button. That's always been the get-out-of-Dodge manoeuvre for the problem ever since i30 days, afaik.


yes that may be ok.....but try doing that while singing a song lets say and your doing the eg: the big "MY WAY" etc, blush Ending and it locks up...OMG!! surprised

Top
#374197 - 11/04/13 08:24 AM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: Uncle Dave]
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10606
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
I had a new Roland E-70 many, many moons ago, that would lock the left hand sound on the last chord played, with the new chord only changing thew style. It was totally a random thing. The only way to stop it, was turning the instrument off, and back on. I was working at a music store in Newfoundland, so I sent the keyboard back to Roland Canada, and it was replaced with a new one. The second one worked perfectly.

This was in the days before OS upgrades could be user installed.

Outstanding service by Roland Canada, but at the time, the glitch was very irritating, as are all random problems.

I hope this issue with Dave's PA-900 can be rectified as soon as possible, as, like Donny said, it doesn't give you a very secure feeling knowing it can happen at any time.

Ian
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
#374202 - 11/04/13 08:41 AM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: Uncle Dave]
124 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/01/09
Posts: 2195
Stuck notes, while being pretty rare (I've only had it happen twice in ten years - and, ideally, shouldn't happen at all, but it's not an ideal world), what are the realistic odds of it occurring at a crucial point such as you mention, Donny? It must be one in billions.

You can, with cool judgement and good timing, make it unnoticeable by hitting a dead stop at an appropriate point and utilising that as if it were intended. Even if it did occur in the '"big ending", you could still pull it off.

Top
#374205 - 11/04/13 08:44 AM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: Uncle Dave]
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16735
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
It was most likely inhabited by some sort of spook during the Halloween party. Perhaps you could get Deacon Fran of the great Church of Roland to say a few words over it. smile
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#374210 - 11/04/13 08:50 AM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: Uncle Dave]
Diki Offline


Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 14207
Loc: NW Florida
Thing is, what's the buzz over at Korgforums about this issue? I would have thought that's the place to find out if this is common, if there's a repeatable way to produce it (hard to get action from Korg until you can spell the problem out in a way they can get it for themselves), and whether anyone has figured out a workaround.

From having run the Roland-Arranger.com Bug Forums for some years, my experience is that the more information you can give them to reproduce the bug, the better your chances of them taking it seriously and fixing it. So, I know it's bit of a chore, but if you can write down quickly as much as you can remember from any lockup happening, the style used, the Performance, the Songbook entry, RH sounds, and then what you were trying to do, with any luck and a bit of perseverance, you can get it to happen again at home.

Once you have a repeatable bug, the manufacturers take you FAR more seriously, and a fix should be coming, with any luck, or at least a workaround.

The thing is, most of our modern arrangers have Songbooks, Performance Lists, MusicFinders, etc.. and fully using these can save you a ton of button pushing between (and during) songs. If that's the issue (too rapid button pushing), making full use of these features should cut back on the need to do that so much. Many of us came from the 'Free Panel' days, and still tend to do much that way, but more modern ways now exist, at the cost of more preparation at home.

If a fix doesn't appear quickly, perhaps using these more fully can help?
_________________________
An arranger is just a tool. What matters is what you build with it..!

Top
#374259 - 11/04/13 04:20 PM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: Uncle Dave]
Uncle Dave Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/99
Posts: 12800
Loc: Penn Yan, NY
Thanx for all your input, but I may not have described the issue correctly - the sound emitted is NOT a stuck note - it's an electrical drone signal and it's the same pitch each time.
More thoughts came to me from your many comments ...

I will take out the "freebie" styles that are not native to the PA series(they didn't work perfectly anyway), and I will reformat my USB drive for starters.

This lockup is not the same as a note freeze - the instrument is rendered useless and must be powered down to proceed. Mic shuts off sound blares until powered down.
A puzzlement, for sure.
_________________________
No longer monitoring this forum. Please visit www.daveboydmusic.com for contact info

Top
#375523 - 11/17/13 06:50 AM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: Uncle Dave]
billyhank Offline
Member

Registered: 09/07/12
Posts: 322
Dave,

That is an OS crash for sure and it is very likely one of the things you have loaded into the keyboard from outside source or defective USB device.

You're on the right track and please keep us informed of your progress because we too have this keyboard.

Bill G

Top
#375526 - 11/17/13 07:06 AM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: Uncle Dave]
tony mads usa Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 14376
Loc: East Greenwich RI USA
Originally Posted By: Uncle Dave
Thanx for all your input, but I may not have described the issue correctly - the sound emitted is NOT a stuck note - it's an electrical drone signal and it's the same pitch each time.
More thoughts came to me from your many comments ...
I will take out the "freebie" styles that are not native to the PA series(they didn't work perfectly anyway), and I will reformat my USB drive for starters.
This lockup is not the same as a note freeze - the instrument is rendered useless and must be powered down to proceed. Mic shuts off sound blares until powered down.
A puzzlement, for sure.


Dave ... how did you make out with this problem?
_________________________
t. cool

Top
#375633 - 11/18/13 01:07 PM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: Uncle Dave]
Robbo Offline
Member

Registered: 07/31/08
Posts: 570
Loc: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
This is the same lockup they had with the PA2X which drove me crazy and into a T4

Top
#375640 - 11/18/13 02:38 PM Re: YIKES - my first real problem with the PA900 [Re: Uncle Dave]
Diki Offline


Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 14207
Loc: NW Florida
If it is so hard to find a repro, it can't be all that common...

You say it happened only three times. In how many performances? And you can't make it happen at home?

I think one of the things I'd suggest you try is a small, inexpensive UPS. House power can vary radically, not just from venue to venue, but at different times. If, for instance, the house A/C and the house freezers/walk-in fridges all power up at the same time, the power browns out a bit, and that's not something you are likely to ever encounter again.

On the whole, a UPS is the first thing I'd try. If you can't get it to lock up at home with a whole bunch of button pushing, it may not be the issue. But a whole lot of different things, from computers, to DVR's, to modems etc. can be VERY intolerant of drops in voltage. $30-40 ought to be enough to get one, and even if it doesn't cure this particular problem, you can still use it at home for your rig there...
_________________________
An arranger is just a tool. What matters is what you build with it..!

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin, Diki, Kerry 



Help keep Synth Zone Online