SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#37108 - 10/22/10 02:51 PM Saving SMF
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4919
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I load the midi on Hdrive, play, and while playing, press GM and go to 1-16 tracks. I then make changes like mute, and press save while it is playing. The screen comes up to name, and I press save from the screen. It asks me to press enter, since I want to just overwrite it.

The trouble is that it doesn't save the changes.
Any idea what is wrong ?
Bernie
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#37109 - 10/22/10 05:31 PM Re: Saving SMF
Rusty 999 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/24/10
Posts: 225
Loc: Ireland
Bernie, I think you have to press pause while your midi is playing--after you have made your changes- and then Save on the lower right of the screen. You will then have the option to rename it or keep the original name and after pressing save you will then get a promp to
overwrite by pressing Enter.
But Pause is the main thing you are missing out on I think
Rusty

Top
#37110 - 10/23/10 02:03 AM Re: Saving SMF
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4919
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
The manual says "play or pause, but I'll try it.
Thanks
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#37111 - 10/23/10 02:29 AM Re: Saving SMF
Rusty 999 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/24/10
Posts: 225
Loc: Ireland
Let me know if it works and if not come back to me again. I have been loading and saving midis and regs all day

My only problem is that I am not convinced that the Slider settings are saving even though I think I am doing it correctly
Still confused as to whether the blue dot should be on or off in saving slider settings

Top
#37112 - 10/23/10 06:08 AM Re: Saving SMF
player 1 Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/09
Posts: 96
Loc: Vargon Sweden
I play and save midifiles all the time and I never paus before save, push the GM button and deside to save right sound transpose etc. if you want to transpose and save the whole song do it on the fly, I do it all the time and it works for me

Top
#37113 - 10/23/10 06:14 AM Re: Saving SMF
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4919
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Rusty
It will not save any changes in GM,playing or paused. Everything works as far as muting, volumes, etc,while playing. As soon as I save it with the same name or different one, the changes are not saving.

I use midifiles quite a lot and have to use the files where I can use the "Lead" track to mute. Unfortunately, there are files that have a double instance of lead, and other changes that can only be handled by the GM window.

I have been trying to think of a work around, but haven't yet.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#37114 - 10/23/10 06:27 AM Re: Saving SMF
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4919
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Player 1
Thank you-It works
In your post you made reference to right, transpose, etc.

When I saved and named, I didn't notice the paramiters around the outside, and had been saving the default screen, which did not include my changes.

Thanks again to both of you.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#37115 - 10/25/10 08:19 AM Re: Saving SMF
Rusty 999 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/24/10
Posts: 225
Loc: Ireland
Glad it works
Question for both of you guys-do either of you save registrations? And if so do your fader settings save? Mine do not as far as I can figure out anyway. When i tweak a registration and go to save I then go to button 1/6
It says Section /[off]--what does that mean by the way?
So I then have the option of lighting the blue Dot beside save slider to [ON] or leaving it Off
AJ told me that clicking it ON means I am telling the audya to IGNORE the save function, and to leave it OFF ?
However i am told by several other people here that they switch it to ON when saving sliders

The reason I am asking is that my SLIDER settings do not appear to save properly -especially MASTER SLIDER . So when i go to a registration I have previously saved it sounds much too loud and does not sound the same as when i previously saved it?

Top
#37116 - 10/25/10 02:34 PM Re: Saving SMF
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16104
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Blue dot must be ON for it to remember that parameter.
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#37117 - 10/25/10 03:07 PM Re: Saving SMF
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4919
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Turn the section on(lower left) and click what you want to save, incl sliders, then save.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online