SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#363760 - 03/25/13 01:42 PM Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
i'd like to know why you can't set the volumes of FILLS without having it changing the volumes of the Arranger parts A,B,C,D respectively.

can't choose a different kit, can't choose different volumes, can't have different FX for Fills & Arranger parts

seems FILLS are tied to arranger parts (kits, volumes, effects, etc)

BUT BREAKS are independent

i need to be able to set my FILL volumes, kits, FX independently

this is beyond incomprehensible...

Top
#363765 - 03/25/13 03:21 PM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
Why do you need to change the volume of the fills outside of the arranger part the fill is designed for? If they are set at a different volume to the arranger parts then surely they will sound weird when activated?

Top
#363780 - 03/25/13 07:55 PM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
I like my drums just a bit louder on the fills
And sometimes my fills may have a single bass note, held, which I want a bit louder
And maybe I want that bass, for that 1 note or run to be a slap bass instead of the finger bass on its "corresponding" arranger part
Or maybe I want a different drum kit because I like the toms of another kit, just for the break
Perhaps I just want a bit more reverb on my fills

Need more reasons? wink

Why must we conform to the "norm"?
Why limit our creativity?


Edited by leezone (03/25/13 07:56 PM)

Top
#363798 - 03/26/13 06:04 AM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
gruhs Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/11
Posts: 198
Loc: Indiana USA
I agree Leezone, I would like the fills a little louder also
so they would stand out a little. Most of them are almost
transparent and unnoticeable.

gary

Top
#363799 - 03/26/13 06:10 AM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
I guess its a case of

You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you canít please all of the people all of the time

John Lydgate

Top
#363808 - 03/26/13 09:39 AM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
Dreamer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/23/01
Posts: 3849
Loc: Rome - Italy
I don't own an Audya (yet) but here is my educated guess: if Leezone refers to the audio drums obviously there is nothing that can be done, but if he refers to a midi drum track there is always the possibility of editing the velocity of the single notes (to make them louder), or one could choose a different drum kit (to solve the "toms" issue). I think that, in style edit mode, it should be possible to insert a program change number at the beginning of the measure, to call a different sound (like a slap bass instead of a "regular" one). So, with a bit of work, everything can be done.
_________________________
Korg Kronos 61 and PA3X-Pro76, Roland G-70, BK7-m and Integra 7, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, vintage Gibson SG standard.

Top
#363817 - 03/26/13 12:00 PM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
"you canít please all of the people all of the time"

yes you can, if you give us the option of having FILLS independent of its Arranger Parts (i'm talking MIDI)

editing velocity of single notes on Audya?
maybe if the Audya had micro-editing which it does not
i don't want a different drum kit because maybe that drum kit that has those Killer Toms have a bad kick drum/snare drum

you see what i mean?

Top
#363821 - 03/26/13 12:33 PM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
Yes, I understand - but sadly you cant micro edit real audio unfortunately and not many of us use midi styles, unless its to replace the midi drums with audio ones.

I am not saying it is right for them to have left out the ability to edit the fills or individual midi drum levels in the fills, but If ketron made the Audya so it did absolutely everythng that everyone wanted it would be far more money and far more complex.

Top
#363824 - 03/26/13 12:40 PM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
i don't think making Fills independent would raise price of Audya or complicate anything

i mean you can do it with breaks, why not fills?

i think this is an easy fix/addition....

Top
#363866 - 03/27/13 01:28 AM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
Dreamer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/23/01
Posts: 3849
Loc: Rome - Italy
Originally Posted By: leezone

i don't want a different drum kit because maybe that drum kit that has those Killer Toms have a bad kick drum/snare drum


So this means that in the Audya you can't edit a drum kit, substituting one kick or one snare with another or importing your own drum samples? Am I correct?
_________________________
Korg Kronos 61 and PA3X-Pro76, Roland G-70, BK7-m and Integra 7, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, vintage Gibson SG standard.

Top
#363870 - 03/27/13 02:21 AM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
audyauser2012 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/30/12
Posts: 30
Dreamer, yes you are correct !

You can't make own drum kit INS file !

You only can remap factory drum kit and save as your own !

Top
#363872 - 03/27/13 03:13 AM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
The Audio drum loops are wav files, so it is impossible to edit or replace one drum just as it is impossible to edit an mp3 file.

I do not see this as a problem. If you were playing with a live drummer you couldn't realy say to him..."I don't like your snare, do you have another one in the van?" And I don't know many bands that would ask their drummer to "sit this one out" because they have a midi drum module that sounds beter.

I have a theory that if certain drum parts are seem unbalanced its often down to the PA as some favour certain frequencies and many modern systems lack mid range almost completey.

Top
#363879 - 03/27/13 07:02 AM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 4928
Loc: English Riviera, UK
Reading the question asked, all he is asking for is to be able to vary the volume of the fill loop, and also adjust the effects (Reverb EQ etc.) independently of variations breaks etc. not of the individual drum sounds. (Letís face it virtually every other arranger manufacture have this facility)

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (IÔŅĹm definitely staying put).

Top
#363880 - 03/27/13 07:28 AM Re: Volumes of AUDYA's FILLS... a Big Time Shortcoming [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
yes, thank you abacus

make the Audya do what all others arrangers do,
change the volume of fills
i guess this is too much to ask for?

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online