SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#35429 - 06/22/10 11:12 PM Ketron support and parts
skude Offline
Member

Registered: 07/15/09
Posts: 370
Hi all
Well, looks like Ketron customer support is not so bad after all. As many knows I have had my Audya for almost one year, and have had a lot of issues. My warranty is from Ketron US, as I bought it when I was in the US. To solve the problem has been very difficult and a long wait to get parts. During this time our friend Tony has tried to help to solve my Audya problems, but no luck. Then he told the story about my Audya to Ketron UK, they forwarded it to Ketron Italy. Ketron responded to it at once by e-mailing me. After a few e-mails telling about my problems, Ketron told me they wanted to send me new all boards (SB, MB, some other board) +HD free of charge. All parts were shipped to the Norwegian distributor, that was very helpful and shipped it to me. All was done in a week, and my Audya was up and running in no time. I also got the offer to bring my Audya to the service senter for free repair, but this is quite far from me. This is exactly how good customer support should work. Why Ketron US distributor CMC couldn't do it this way is my question. Both Frank, my dealer, and AJ asked for this, but no luck. Ketron UK and Ketron NO had nothing to do with my Audya purchase, still they helped out. In my case I think it's not fair blaming Ketron for bad support, when it's the distributor that did a bad job. It looks like it's all up to the distributor, and what they do. My Audya plays fine at the moment, but after a year with problems I need to play it for some time to be sure everything is OK. But thanks to Tony, Ketron UK, Ketron NO, and Ketron IT. for all help.
Regards
skude

[This message has been edited by skude (edited 06-22-2010).]

[This message has been edited by skude (edited 06-22-2010).]

Top
#35430 - 06/23/10 08:10 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Quote:
Originally posted by skude:
Hi all
Well, looks like Ketron customer support is not so bad after all. As many knows I have had my Audya for almost one year, and have had a lot of issues. My warranty is from Ketron US, as I bought it when I was in the US. To solve the problem has been very difficult and a long wait to get parts. During this time our friend Tony has tried to help to solve my Audya problems, but no luck. Then he told the story about my Audya to Ketron UK, they forwarded it to Ketron Italy. Ketron responded to it at once by e-mailing me. After a few e-mails telling about my problems, Ketron told me they wanted to send me new all boards (SB, MB, some other board) +HD free of charge. All parts were shipped to the Norwegian distributor, that was very helpful and shipped it to me. All was done in a week, and my Audya was up and running in no time. I also got the offer to bring my Audya to the service senter for free repair, but this is quite far from me. This is exactly how good customer support should work. Why Ketron US distributor CMC couldn't do it this way is my question. Both Frank, my dealer, and AJ asked for this, but no luck. Ketron UK and Ketron NO had nothing to do with my Audya purchase, still they helped out. In my case I think it's not fair blaming Ketron for bad support, when it's the distributor that did a bad job. It looks like it's all up to the distributor, and what they do. My Audya plays fine at the moment, but after a year with problems I need to play it for some time to be sure everything is OK. But thanks to Tony, Ketron UK, Ketron NO, and Ketron IT. for all help.
Regards
skude

[This message has been edited by skude (edited 06-22-2010).]

[This message has been edited by skude (edited 06-22-2010).]


This is not how it is meant to be, we all know who is at fault but it's left a nasty taste in ones mouth. Coupled with all the tosh about OS dates it must have look to Skude that there was zero light at the end of the tunnel, he only needs to wait xxxxx days for his new samples and styles. Happy playing Skude I am sure it will be worth waiting for, if and when it is complete .
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#35431 - 06/23/10 12:42 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
NiteLife Offline
Member

Registered: 04/02/10
Posts: 264
Loc: Cape Coral, Florida USA
Skude:

I'm happy to hear about Ketron finally taking care of your problems.

I'm still having audio out problems but nothing like what you have been through.

Good luck with your rebuilt Audya!!!

Jim

Top
#35432 - 06/23/10 03:12 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
Jimgansett Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/21/08
Posts: 18
Loc: Millbury, MA
Well... having a problem which took 1 year to solve and you really believe Ketron customer support isn't so bad after all? Hey, as I said in an earlier post, my SD3 still has the same problem after 2 years with NO resolution from Ketron USA (at least they tried) and absolutely no help from Ketron Italy. In addition, Ketron seems to enjoy releasing products before they are truly tested and reliable. If you bought a car with as many bugs as have turned up in Ketron products you would have gotten rid of it post haste. However, I am glad that at least you finally got your problem solved! Ketron remains - great sound - poor customer service.

Top
#35433 - 06/24/10 07:33 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
skude Offline
Member

Registered: 07/15/09
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally posted by Jimgansett:
Well... having a problem which took 1 year to solve and you really believe Ketron customer support isn't so bad after all? Hey, as I said in an earlier post, my SD3 still has the same problem after 2 years with NO resolution from Ketron USA (at least they tried) and absolutely no help from Ketron Italy. In addition, Ketron seems to enjoy releasing products before they are truly tested and reliable. If you bought a car with as many bugs as have turned up in Ketron products you would have gotten rid of it post haste. However, I am glad that at least you finally got your problem solved! Ketron remains - great sound - poor customer service.


I can only talk for myself, I have never been happy that this has taken so long. But if a distributor don't discuss problems with the factory, how can they know. In my case it looks more to be bad communication between Ketron US and Ketron It. Why should parts take months to get to the US and only a few days to Norway. May be the US distributor only order parts once every 3 months or so. I don't really know, but some people at Ketron It. really got things going.
skude

Top
#35434 - 06/24/10 09:20 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Quote:
Originally posted by skude:
I can only talk for myself, I have never been happy that this has taken so long. But if a distributor don't discuss problems with the factory, how can they know. In my case it looks more to be bad communication between Ketron US and Ketron It. Why should parts take months to get to the US and only a few days to Norway. May be the US distributor only order parts once every 3 months or so. I don't really know, but some people at Ketron It. really got things going.
skude


Skude,

After what you have gone through I would doubt if anyone would buy another Audya that’s gone through the US importer, not anyone with any sense. Your case is testimony that to do so would be stupid beyond believe. I think Frank buys MS direct so there is no middle man, no middle man mark up, just sat on his backside and doing nothing! This doesn’t happen in the UK.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#35435 - 06/24/10 12:06 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
NiteLife Offline
Member

Registered: 04/02/10
Posts: 264
Loc: Cape Coral, Florida USA
Skude:

I have been reading and following your posts for some time now about the problems you have had with the Audya.

Now that you have all new Hardware installed, I'd like to hear how the keyboard is playing now.

Are all the Problems gone? Does the audio sound any different?

Is there any glitches the new hardware didn't correct?

Do you think most of the problems were from the MAIN Board vs the Sound Board?

It would be nice for you to give us all a full update.

I am having similar problems and I believe Frank is going to get me a new Main Board. I have replaced the Sound Board which did not correct my audio out problems.

I'm hoping a new Main Board will be the answer.

Please give us an update.

Thanks.

Jim

Top
#35436 - 06/26/10 07:20 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
skude Offline
Member

Registered: 07/15/09
Posts: 370
Jim
Short update while I'm waiting to start my gig.
Had to put my rig up at noon, there is some other show going on from 1-5 o'clock, my gig starts at 9. First startup no sound from outputs, did a restart, still no sound from main outs, another restart, all working, even "count in". Left my KB ON hoping it will still work when I start playing. Have to pick up a backup KB. Blood presure quite high at the moment Will give you more details on Monday
skude

Top
#35437 - 06/27/10 08:28 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
NiteLife Offline
Member

Registered: 04/02/10
Posts: 264
Loc: Cape Coral, Florida USA
Thanks Skude,

No audio out at start up is already not a good report! The keyboard shouldn't have to be restarted several times to get the audio out to work!

Basically that is the same problem as before the hardware replacement!

Please provide us with as much detail as you can.

Thanks!

Jim

Top
#35438 - 06/27/10 11:00 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
skude Offline
Member

Registered: 07/15/09
Posts: 370
Jim
The gig went well after all. Had my KB turned ON for 13 hours. I didn't take the chance of turning OFF after sound check. It played fine all night. In one way I wish it would stop working, than maybe it would be easier to find the fault. After replacing the hardware it played fine the first day, next day at startup there was no sound from "count in" tick. A restart and it was back. Played fine for two days, than at startup the "count in" sound was about half of the normal volume, and a restart didn't help. Than the next day again, at startup everything was back to normal, played fine til friday night, than saturday at startup no output sound from mains or headphone. When I turn on the Audya and after loading default factory style (Slow_Ballad with Grand Piano) I just press the count in button to start the style, if I can hear the count in tick before the style starts, it will work fine all night, if no sound from count in, I need to do one or more restarts. So my conclution, pretty much the same as with the old hardware, ( except from vocaliser) I need to get this fixed, it makes nervoes everytime I turn on the KB.
The vocaliser worked very fine and the mic sound was great, so hopefully one less problem. The drummer in my band was at my gig and said the sound was really great. And he is not the one that are happy about arrangers and OMB's . I will contact Ketron again. I will keep you posted.
skude

[This message has been edited by skude (edited 06-27-2010).]

Top
#35439 - 06/27/10 11:25 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
NiteLife Offline
Member

Registered: 04/02/10
Posts: 264
Loc: Cape Coral, Florida USA
Thanks Skude for that report!

Sounds like some improvement but also sounds like the same type of problems are still there.

Have you run the rom tests since you installed the new hardware to check for errors?

Mine shows an error in Ket A09. I just wonder if your's has any errors? Before or after.

Did Ketron send you any kind of install instructions with the new hardware?

Any directions of any kind?

I will be replacing my main board so any help you can be will be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Thanks Skude!!!!

Jim

Top
#35440 - 06/27/10 11:53 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
NiteLife Offline
Member

Registered: 04/02/10
Posts: 264
Loc: Cape Coral, Florida USA
Skude: Could your count in tick problems maybe be a glitch in just the Slow Ballad style?

Maybe a dumb question, but do you always after turning on the keyboard go right to the first intro on the Slow Ballad?

I'm just trying to figure out if the count in problem is part of or separate from the audio out problem.

When I start up my keyboard, I know immediately if the Left Channel out is or isn't working. I just hit one note on the keyboard. Sometimes several reboots are needed for both channels to work. Sometimes audio out is fine at start up then cuts out while playing.

As you know, that is a very frustrating problem!

I'm hoping through a process of elimination and us putting our heads together, maybe just maybe we can narrow down where the actual problem lies.

So far, nobody else has offered any solutions!

Jim

Top
#35441 - 06/27/10 12:35 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Quote:
Originally posted by NiteLife:
Thanks Skude for that report!

Sounds like some improvement but also sounds like the same type of problems are still there.

Have you run the rom tests since you installed the new hardware to check for errors?

Mine shows an error in Ket A09. I just wonder if your's has any errors? Before or after.

Did Ketron send you any kind of install instructions with the new hardware?

Any directions of any kind?

I will be replacing my main board so any help you can be will be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Thanks Skude!!!!

Jim


Jim,

You must have all the rom test good, do you know how to reload them, have you been instructed there is a way
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#35442 - 06/27/10 01:18 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
NiteLife Offline
Member

Registered: 04/02/10
Posts: 264
Loc: Cape Coral, Florida USA
Tony:
No, I have not been instructed how to reload the roms.

Jim

Top
#35443 - 06/27/10 06:57 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
NiteLife Offline
Member

Registered: 04/02/10
Posts: 264
Loc: Cape Coral, Florida USA
Tony:

How do you do it?

I'll try anything at this point!

Jim

Top
#35444 - 06/27/10 10:43 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Quote:
Originally posted by NiteLife:
Tony:

How do you do it?

I'll try anything at this point!

Jim


Jim,

I am off to the day job now, I will tell you how to do it tonight when I get home, if Skude is arounf today he has done it before you need to reload Param0000.pcm it os in System/factory/sound from memory if you press enter with Param0000.pcm in blue it will load them all back into memory, it does take some time .
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#35445 - 06/28/10 01:17 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
skude Offline
Member

Registered: 07/15/09
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally posted by NiteLife:
Thanks Skude for that report!

Sounds like some improvement but also sounds like the same type of problems are still there.

Have you run the rom tests since you installed the new hardware to check for errors?

Mine shows an error in Ket A09. I just wonder if your's has any errors? Before or after.

Did Ketron send you any kind of install instructions with the new hardware?

Any directions of any kind?

I will be replacing my main board so any help you can be will be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Thanks Skude!!!!

Jim


Jim
I got no instructions about doing anything after replacing the boards. I was told the new hardware had OS3 installed, and SB and HD had a handwritten label that says OS3. I also was told not to do any update before contacting Ketron after first week in July. This morning I did a Check Sum test and I got error on Ket.A Ø2.
My Audya plays fine today, even with error.
When I change soundboard the first time AJ told me to reload some factory files the following way: ( you will get a warning entering system files) DISK / SYSTEM / FACTORY / SOUND. Smpl.000D pcm - enter. takes at least
1 1/2 hour to load. Than the file , Parm.0000 pcm - enter. takes about 15 min.
My sound card has # PB414A.
I think AJ could give you some help.
I have tried anything I can think of regarding my count in issue. The intros works fine. Reason why I'm pressing count in button after startup, is that that's a good way to find out if the Audya is in a good mood . Finding out, later that things are not working and do restarts is not any fun. I have e-mailed Ketron Italy an update on these problems, I'm sure they will work to solve it. I will let you know.
skude

Top
#35446 - 06/28/10 10:08 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 4047
Loc: Norway
Skude,
we Norwegians are sure patient people, but the only thing Ketron should do now, is to send
you a new Audya keyboard stright from the factory and ask for yours item in return.
And of course, rapid delivery and at no cost for you!

I have to say I'm really glad that I did not jump into buy any at first, and also that I
recently did not buy one fairly new for nearly half of the ordinary price here at the
local eBay. (Finn.no)

Still, I've not lost all the hope, and I really love the Ketron sound, but I will wait and
see if those reported issues going to be solved and what Ketron will do to make customers
happy with the Audya (and not to forget about future customers).

Good luck, really hope all of you Audya users get problems solved and can continue the
happy playing!

Cheers
GJ
_________________________
Cheers 🥂
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
#35447 - 06/28/10 11:21 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
skude Offline
Member

Registered: 07/15/09
Posts: 370
GJ
Agree with you, many of my friends think I'm very patient person, but what else can I do. This is what we say here on the west coast of Norway, and you know what this means
" når du har tatt fanden ombord, må du prøve å ro han i land"
Plans were to go over to the US at the end of next month, but something came up, and we have to wait some time. Plans were to bring the Audya with me, but insurance and airfreight is way too expencive. Already put too much money in this. If it wasn't for that I wanted to use the Audya in the US last summer I would have bought it from Gjøvik Musikk, I would have saved money doing that, and probably had a new one by now. Now everything is in the hands of Ketron Italy. They know what's going on, and I'm waiting for their answer. Still have hopes.
skude

Top
#35448 - 06/28/10 12:21 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3120
Quote:
Originally posted by skude:
GJ
Plans were to bring the Audya with me, but insurance and airfreight is way too expencive.



Skude,

that's why you need the AUDYA 4,
bring as carry-on



[This message has been edited by leezone (edited 06-28-2010).]

Top
#35449 - 06/28/10 10:03 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Quote:
Originally posted by skude:
GJ
Agree with you, many of my friends think I'm very patient person, but what else can I do. This is what we say here on the west coast of Norway, and you know what this means
" når du har tatt fanden ombord, må du prøve å ro han i land"
Plans were to go over to the US at the end of next month, but something came up, and we have to wait some time. Plans were to bring the Audya with me, but insurance and airfreight is way too expencive. Already put too much money in this. If it wasn't for that I wanted to use the Audya in the US last summer I would have bought it from Gjøvik Musikk, I would have saved money doing that, and probably had a new one by now. Now everything is in the hands of Ketron Italy. They know what's going on, and I'm waiting for their answer. Still have hopes.
skude


Skude,

When you got it back into the USA what would you do with it, Frank would be permanently closed for Lunch. I couldn't sell mine on EBay, no takers, you would need to sell yours and state COUNT IN not included. No one in the UK is buying cars at the moment, VAT on the up next year, luxury goods and not high on people’s priority list and I can't imagine any professional buying an Audya to upgrade seeing the problems you have had. Ketron have not got the slightest intention of changing your KB their customer care is as dynamic as their upgrades. Dare I say it, Frank might open up for you and do a part exchange for a SEXY RED GROOVE, but could you hack it! How would that stack up with Norway customs it went out as silver and came back as Red, your having us on, now cough up!

[This message has been edited by Tony Hughes (edited 06-28-2010).]
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#35450 - 06/29/10 12:48 AM Re: Ketron support and parts
skude Offline
Member

Registered: 07/15/09
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally posted by leezone:

Skude,

that's why you need the AUDYA 4,
bring as carry-on

[This message has been edited by leezone (edited 06-28-2010).]


Leezone
If the Audya 4 has count in tick tick tick, it would never pass security as carry-on.
skude

Top
#35451 - 06/29/10 10:50 PM Re: Ketron support and parts
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Quote:
Originally posted by skude:
Leezone
If the Audya 4 has count in tick tick tick, it would never pass security as carry-on.
skude


Skude,

You would be OK with your Audya going out then, if you swap it for a MS at Franks it won't have a count in , but you can write some code to put one in when you get it home, go for it Skude. Knowing your luck Skude Customs would turn your Audya on and the COUNT IN Tick would be working Doh! They would take it off you and all your problems would be over!

[This message has been edited by Tony Hughes (edited 06-29-2010).]
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online