SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#353410 - 10/23/12 04:18 PM Re: Has anyone opened up a PSR-S910? [Re: Tom Cavanaugh]
miden Offline

Loc: The World
Originally Posted By: Tom Cavanaugh
Larry,

It shouldn't really be much of a problem. Just take it slow and don't force anything. I was a tech for 10 years. If the pot isn't sealed try a little WD40 in it. Spray it and work it back and forth. If it is sealed bend the little tabs back a little to create a crack in which you can get a little WD40 in there. Squeeze the tabs back and it should be good to go. If you need to replace the pot go to Radio Shaft get some solder wick to unsolder it. Get the right resistance pot and solder the new one in. I doubt you will need to replace it. Good luck.

Tom

Sorry Tom, I have to disagree a little.

It is not recommended to put ANY solvent based products or oils (and WD40 is essentially Kerosene) into electronic components..

Compressed air is the only method (safe) to use...and one can buy these at any electronics store in handy aerosol packs...Also do not use normal compressed air as this contains quite a deal of moisture...

Electronics grade is totally dry air...

Also your post indicates it is far easier than it really is...care needs to be take not to overheat other components and tracks in the removal, and replacement..

Sure, for you or I it is "electronics 101", but for folks not used to this type of circuitry and fine soldering, it can be a test.

Also you forgot to mention he must use rosin core solder, not acid..just another small heads up.

No offence meant, and I am not trying to start an argument and I am SURE you do know your stuff, I just wanted to mention this.

Dennis

#353416 - 10/23/12 05:35 PM Re: Has anyone opened up a PSR-S910? [Re: miden]
NoteBender Offline

Loc: Nova Scotia, Canada