SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#33791 - 11/19/08 04:56 PM SD3/XD3 question
GeneSC Offline

Loc: Seneca, SC, USA
I posted this on the General keyboards page and thought I ask here also.(gonna take some time to get used to this forum LOL

Hi guys, "newbie" here. I have been playing a (Ketron) Solton MS60 for several years (Love It). Recently our church purchased a Kurzweil Mark 152i baby grand piano and altho I like playing it, the rythms doesn't come close to the Ketron products. I've almost talked them into a Ketron arranger but I've never used one. I understand the basics of how they work and my main concern is which one to get?? I'm pretty sure that the XD3 will do more than my Solton and what I want to know is, Is the Sd3 really worth the extra money?? and also where is the best place to shop for one??
Thank you.
gene

#33792 - 11/21/08 05:46 PM Re: SD3/XD3 question
George Kaye Offline

Loc: Reseda, California USA
Gene,
I am a dealer in Southern California and I ship all over the country. I've been selling Solton/Ketron since 1984. I'm very familiar with all their products from back then and currently.
The biggest reasons for me to buy the SD3 over the XD3 would be first, the polyphony. The SD has 128 and the XD3 has 64. Next, the 16 buttons on the lower section of the SD3 module let you select registrations for the first time where the names show up in a list of 16 at a time so you don't have to memorize numbers to remember what you are looking for for a specific selection. Also, these buttons can do all the same things that you had to do on a pedal board for the XD3 or your MS60.
The sounds are also better for instruments like acoustic piano, etc.
The other big new feature is the "riff mode" which allows you to pick a key and the SD3 will play chord progressions within the key you've specified.
You can buy the SD3 stock, with just a floppy drive, or with an optinal hard drive and vocal harmonizer for singers.