SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#332872 - 10/25/11 12:40 AM A Question for Bill Norrie on Drums
Glen Coyne Offline

Loc: West London, UK
Hi Bill

I remember reading somewhere, possibly on this forum that someone said the KN7000's drums sounds are not very good. I personally disagree I find them very acceptable as a midi sound source.

As a drummer I was just wondering what your view is on the KN7000 drum sounds, also can you recommend any sets that are more realistic than others.

Thanks

Glen

#332878 - 10/25/11 07:26 AM Re: A Question for Bill Norrie on Drums [Re: Glen Coyne]
Glen Coyne Offline

If anyone else wants to chip in feel free smile

Glen

#332888 - 10/25/11 02:21 PM Re: A Question for Bill Norrie on Drums [Re: Glen Coyne]
bruno123 Online   content

Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Glen Coyne,
Drums sounds are subjective. If the sound of the drums on my Korg Pa800 were to used with a song on a Kn7000 it would not sound very good. Keep in mind that the same drums sound on a different keyboard is subject to a different sound producing engine, they will sound different.

The first Kn7000 I bought did not have good drums or basses; it was bought when they first came out. The one I have now excels in both areas, the drums and basses are good as they are. I used the an edited user drum kit to build up the drum sounds, it did the job. I fine no need to do the same on the one I have now.

John C.
IMPORTANT: What type of music are you playing on the Kn7000?

#332890 - 10/25/11 04:15 PM Re: A Question for Bill Norrie on Drums [Re: Glen Coyne]
Bill Norrie Offline

Loc: North Yorkshire UK
Hi Glen,

I have no problem with the drum sounds on the KN7000 - I find that most of them are realistic and perfectly acceptable. Some are a little low in volume - such as the Triangle - but this can be corrected by using the User Kit.