SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#33451 - 02/08/08 07:55 PM Ketron SD3 vs. Orla XM00
MicronMan Offline

Loc: Mahwah, NJ USA
I am a newbie posting to this site. Glad I found it. I would appreciate any advice as I have only used a KORG Rhythm 55B and an RhythmAce in the past (70's). It appears the technology has significantly advanced. I would like to know the key difference between an Orla XM400 and a Ketron SD3. I have a Roland FR-7 accordion and would like to add accompaniment. I hear the Ketron is the best -- but is it "too good" if I only use it for accompaniment? Are there any other choices? Thanks for your advice.

------------------

#33452 - 05/22/08 07:18 PM Re: Ketron SD3 vs. Orla XM00
Jimgansett Offline

Loc: Millbury, MA
Well, I play an FR-7 that I picked up in February. I compared the Orla XM900 (their newest) with the Ketron XD3 and SD3 modules. I believe the Orla is simplier to use, but after listening to samples of both the Ketron and Orla, I decided that the Ketron voices and accompaniments were superior, more realistic. The Ketron has a lot of features you may or may not ever use. NOW, I pick up a MIDI cable tomorrow, and will try the SD3 I bought and hopefully, it will connect no problem. The XD3 and SD3 come up in "Accordion Mode" and the hookup should be fairly smooth... wish me luck!

#33453 - 07/21/08 02:17 PM Re: Ketron SD3 vs. Orla XM00
MicronMan Offline

Thanks for the response! I almost gave up on this BBS. I was inclined to the same conclusion as you after play and re-playing (many time over) the demos from Orla and Ketron. I hope it worked out for you. I would be very interested in your imporessions now that some time has passed since you started using your SD3. Has it lived up to your expectations? Have you run into any technical difficulties or nuiances? Thanks again for your response.
Quote:
Originally posted by MicronMan: