SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#330884 - 08/26/11 05:51 AM AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >>
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
What do you guys think?
Modyfing your old IEDE drive to a SSD
NO moving parts, likely reducing HD crashes, errors, etc


Would you guys buy this? Thoughts?
I know I'd be the first in line...

Top
#330886 - 08/26/11 06:57 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
i meant EIDE to SSD smile

AJ, can you hear me?

Top
#330892 - 08/26/11 08:00 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
maybe this will do the trick?


Top
#330893 - 08/26/11 08:09 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
or this, similar


Top
#330921 - 08/26/11 10:24 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930


Leezone,

That's just a bridge too far.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#330924 - 08/26/11 10:44 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 4904
Loc: English Riviera, UK
EIDE is an older interface that was used in virtually all PCs; it has been superseded by the SATA interface, (Most these days being SATA 2 although SATA 3 is starting to become more common place)

SSD (Solid State Drive) is as it says pure solid state hardware, compared to a HDD (Hard Disk Drive) which has spinning discs and moving heads, consequently the replacement of EIDE with SSD request has no meaning.

What I think you mean is either that you would like the EIDE interface converted to a SATA interface so as to give a better data transfer throughput, (Many adaptors are available to do this, however you will still be limited to the same speed as the EIDE interface as to make full use of a SATA drive (Either HDD or SSD) requires a dedicated interface for it) or the EIDE HDD to be replaced with a SATA SSD.

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#330925 - 08/26/11 10:59 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
abacus

i'm not looking necessarily for a speed increase
but more of a dependability increase

getting rid of spinning, moving parts should make it more "bulletproof"

AUDYA depends on the HD constantly spinning, so there is a chance that any failure, will be result of HD malfunction

AJ, and Ketron should know more on failures and what causes them.

converting to SSD could be the answer !!!

Top
#330929 - 08/26/11 11:58 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
if AUDYA had 2.5" HD, we probably could just use this:



but then with this, we're all set:



Edited by leezone (08/26/11 12:11 PM)

Top
#330930 - 08/26/11 12:02 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Leezone,

Don't talk about it, get one and try it, but don't say I told you so.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#330931 - 08/26/11 12:12 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
Tony,

I'd try it if i knew my AUDYA wouldn't blow up lol

AUDYA's HD is 3.5" yes?


Edited by leezone (08/26/11 12:12 PM)

Top
#330932 - 08/26/11 12:32 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Snoopy Offline
Member

Registered: 05/23/11
Posts: 284
Loc: Northern Germany
Hi,

Audya5 has a "normal" 2.5" HD with standard 44-pin IDE-connection.

So theoretically you could use a SSD.

BUT : SSDs only "live a long time" when the operating-system supports them. Otherwise the memory-cells will be destroyed very quick. ( within months, depending on the number of WRITE-Accesses ).
In PCs youll find this support only in Windows7 and some of the latest Linux-versions ( maybe Apple / MAC as well... )
But Audya has obviously an "old operating system" that does not support SSD-features.

The german support told me in april 2011 that Ketron is still working on this problem. At that time they DID NOT RECOMMEND the use of SSDs in the Audya.

But 4 months ( since april ) is a long time, so you could give it a try. grin

Of course you should be able to do a "sector-copy" ( like with "Acronis True Image" ) of the original Audya-HD. "Normal" copy ( e.g. via Explorer ) WILL NOT WORK !

This kind of copy-process will NOT ! work properly via "Audya to PC" USB-Connection ( it also would last more than 10 hours ). You have to extract the HD from the Audya and connect it directly to the PC ( e.g. via an external 2.5 HD case ). With that constellation it took me only 20 Minutes to complete my sector-copy.
_________________________
Greetings from East-Frisia ( Northern-Germany )

Top
#330934 - 08/26/11 12:39 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
so if my AUDYA4 has a 2.5"
i could just swap it out for the 2.5" EIDE SSD
hhmmm, sounds tempting

Top
#330937 - 08/26/11 02:24 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930


Leezone,

If you mess with the Audya it will never work again, don't mess with the HD. You maybe OK with a MS.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#330938 - 08/26/11 02:29 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
Ok Tony. I will let you mess with yours first.

AJ, what are your opinions on "upgading" the EIDE?

Top
#330939 - 08/26/11 02:49 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930

Leezone,


Don't know what your asking AJ for he is much too busy writing code.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#330940 - 08/26/11 02:58 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
writing code? like 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 lol

Top
#330941 - 08/26/11 02:58 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
or maybe he's busy testing out the IDE to SSD interface

Top
#330947 - 08/26/11 05:12 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Robbo Offline
Member

Registered: 07/31/08
Posts: 564
Loc: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Yeah I think unless you had a radical upgrade in the OS for Audya, the SSD would not be of benefit, as I also believe the number of calls on the drive make it last a very short time. However Ketron if you are listening to this, and one may suggest that they dont, we would like it if it worked improved overall efficiency, and iron clad safety,

Top
#330957 - 08/27/11 03:49 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Snoopy Offline
Member

Registered: 05/23/11
Posts: 284
Loc: Northern Germany
If anyone is interested in,

the original drive in my Audya5 is :

Seagate LD 25.2 Typ : ST980210A

In Germany you can purchase ist for less than 50 Euros wink
_________________________
Greetings from East-Frisia ( Northern-Germany )

Top
#330969 - 08/27/11 11:00 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
If SSD is not an option as some say it will not last as long due to continuous read/write
perhaps we can still convert the old outdated IDE interface in AUDYA
to the newer SATA interface to accomodate the newer HD's
as one day IDE will be Impossible to Buy

Top
#330972 - 08/27/11 03:24 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1099
Loc: FRANCE
I think Audya don't write so much into the HD.

It's almost only READ from the HD

So there is not so much risk about the SSD death.

Maybe the best is to try with the transcend SSD-IDE

And go gig always with the 2 HDs, so if one goes bad, you have a HD backup smile
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#330974 - 08/27/11 06:35 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
Dan,

maybe alot or READ will ruin the SSD faster than IDE drive?
i find it hard to believe

i think AJ once said that using an SSD would require a re-write of the OS

so it probably is not so simple as we think
or maybe it is..who knows

Top
#330982 - 08/27/11 11:06 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: Snoopy]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Originally Posted By: Snoopy
If anyone is interested in,

the original drive in my Audya5 is :

Seagate LD 25.2 Typ : ST980210A

In Germany you can purchase ist for less than 50 Euros wink



Audya owners should write down this HD and keep it somewhere safe if needed, since not all 2.5" HDs will work on Audya, BTW this is not the only drive Audya use.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#330990 - 08/28/11 03:03 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Snoopy Offline
Member

Registered: 05/23/11
Posts: 284
Loc: Northern Germany
Originally Posted By: leezone
...maybe alot or READ will ruin the SSD faster than IDE drive?


Hi again,

READING will not ruin the SSD, just WRITING wink

But dont forget : ANY new registration, User-Style, Program-Voice, mp3, wave and so on, ( as a summary : anything you change ) will result in WRITING to the SSD.

Even if you have to write only 1 byte the SSD will write a full sector. Depending on its size and the HD-technique used this may result in writing up to 32 MB. If you do that 2000 times youve written 60 GB.

BUT : On a "normal HD" youll write it always on different sectors. On SSD youll write it always into THE SAME memory-cell, except the "intelligent use" of the drive is supported by the operating-system ( and the SSD-controller-chip ).

A cheap SSD with MLC memory maybe written only up to 3.000 times until the memorycell is destroyed.

BTW: Technically my post is not 100% correct, but it should figure only how the system works wink
_________________________
Greetings from East-Frisia ( Northern-Germany )

Top
#331008 - 08/28/11 11:29 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Robbo Offline
Member

Registered: 07/31/08
Posts: 564
Loc: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Just a thought? I know the new Korg Kronos uses an ssd hard drive they must have known about the issues before they went for it, well one hopes so anyway, or have they cracked the secret?

Top
#331017 - 08/29/11 08:32 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
so if Korg uses SSD
why not Ketron?
worth looking into AJ

Top
#331019 - 08/29/11 09:19 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 4009
Loc: Norway
Roland G-70 are equipped with Internal SSD (Solid State Disk) about 50 MB.
Remember it's some years since that keyboard released, and my G-70 and SSD drive still works great without any problem smile
keys
_________________________
Cheers 🥂
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
#331028 - 08/29/11 10:19 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
so Roland and Korg both with SSD
seems to me that this might work



Edited by leezone (08/29/11 10:19 AM)

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online