SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#330932 - 08/26/11 12:32 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Snoopy Offline
Member

Registered: 05/23/11
Posts: 284
Loc: Northern Germany
Hi,

Audya5 has a "normal" 2.5" HD with standard 44-pin IDE-connection.

So theoretically you could use a SSD.

BUT : SSDs only "live a long time" when the operating-system supports them. Otherwise the memory-cells will be destroyed very quick. ( within months, depending on the number of WRITE-Accesses ).
In PCs youŽll find this support only in Windows7 and some of the latest Linux-versions ( maybe Apple / MAC as well... )
But Audya has obviously an "old operating system" that does not support SSD-features.

The german support told me in april 2011 that Ketron is still working on this problem. At that time they DID NOT RECOMMEND the use of SSDs in the Audya.

But 4 months ( since april ) is a long time, so you could give it a try. grin

Of course you should be able to do a "sector-copy" ( like with "Acronis True Image" ) of the original Audya-HD. "Normal" copy ( e.g. via Explorer ) WILL NOT WORK !

This kind of copy-process will NOT ! work properly via "Audya to PC" USB-Connection ( it also would last more than 10 hours ). You have to extract the HD from the Audya and connect it directly to the PC ( e.g. via an external 2.5 HD case ). With that constellation it took me only 20 Minutes to complete my sector-copy.
_________________________
Greetings from East-Frisia ( Northern-Germany )

Top
#330934 - 08/26/11 12:39 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
so if my AUDYA4 has a 2.5"
i could just swap it out for the 2.5" EIDE SSD
hhmmm, sounds tempting

Top
#330937 - 08/26/11 02:24 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930


Leezone,

If you mess with the Audya it will never work again, don't mess with the HD. You maybe OK with a MS.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#330938 - 08/26/11 02:29 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
Ok Tony. I will let you mess with yours first.

AJ, what are your opinions on "upgading" the EIDE?

Top
#330939 - 08/26/11 02:49 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930

Leezone,


Don't know what your asking AJ for he is much too busy writing code.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#330940 - 08/26/11 02:58 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
writing code? like 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 lol

Top
#330941 - 08/26/11 02:58 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
or maybe he's busy testing out the IDE to SSD interface

Top
#330947 - 08/26/11 05:12 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Robbo Offline
Member

Registered: 07/31/08
Posts: 564
Loc: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Yeah I think unless you had a radical upgrade in the OS for Audya, the SSD would not be of benefit, as I also believe the number of calls on the drive make it last a very short time. However Ketron if you are listening to this, and one may suggest that they dont, we would like it if it worked improved overall efficiency, and iron clad safety,

Top
#330957 - 08/27/11 03:49 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Snoopy Offline
Member

Registered: 05/23/11
Posts: 284
Loc: Northern Germany
If anyone is interested in,

the original drive in my Audya5 is :

Seagate LD 25.2 Typ : ST980210A

In Germany you can purchase ist for less than 50 Euros wink
_________________________
Greetings from East-Frisia ( Northern-Germany )

Top
#330969 - 08/27/11 11:00 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
If SSD is not an option as some say it will not last as long due to continuous read/write
perhaps we can still convert the old outdated IDE interface in AUDYA
to the newer SATA interface to accomodate the newer HD's
as one day IDE will be Impossible to Buy

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online