SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#330657 - 08/20/11 07:27 AM Re: Purple Rain Pa3x [Re: Scottyee]
RC Offline

Loc: Pa Usa
I am not a professional but I thought arranger keyboards were made for the purpose of programing different chords, sounds, and style changes through the sequencer. I can do this with the Technics keyboard using the control function in the sequencer. When a song is arranged it makes all of the changes at certain measures and the song is not a midi. You the person makes the song and add all of the different chords and changes. I also observed TOSTIE'S performance on the Tyros, which was very well done, I counted him making various changes 32 times while playing. If you program these changes in you can eliminate moving around all over the keyboard. This is very hard to do when you are reading music and looking for buttons.

#330658 - 08/20/11 07:47 AM Re: Purple Rain Pa3x [Re: RC]
tony mads usa Offline

Loc: East Greenwich RI USA
RC ... I agree with you ... If this guys makes his own styles, I think it might be a self made sequence as opposed to a midi file ... although I am not sure if there is a difference between a self made sequence or a self made midi file ?!? confused1 juggle

#330662 - 08/20/11 10:04 AM Re: Purple Rain Pa3x [Re: Saswick]
lahawk Offline

Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
I agree with Scott, he's using a pre-recorded midi, possibly sequenced by him. At 2:20 I heard a Hammond organ type sound come out of nowhere, and this was another hint he was playing along with a midi, and not a style. I'm not saying there is anything wrong with that. Don't want to go down that 'right or wrong' road AGAIN. To each his own.

If it is style and freely available, can someone please post it, or provide a link for download?

Questions about the Chord Sequencer that was used, according to spalding