SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#326825 - 06/20/11 11:07 AM hooking audya 4 to computer
gruhs Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/11
Posts: 198
Loc: Indiana USA
It's my understanding that when hooking the audya 4 to computer your supposed to use the weird little plug on the back of the computer (for installing update) rather then the normal usb ports on the front.......... yes or no?

Assuming that is true, I went to buy a cable to do this today and the only thing I found that looked like that was called a
"printer cable". Will that work or is there some other more special cable to go in search of?

Thanks,

Top
#326826 - 06/20/11 11:18 AM Re: hooking audya 4 to computer [Re: gruhs]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3115
its a usb cable you need... not the printer like cable


Top
#326829 - 06/20/11 01:22 PM Re: hooking audya 4 to computer [Re: leezone]
gruhs Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/11
Posts: 198
Loc: Indiana USA
OK, thanks, I'll keep looking :-)

Top
#326830 - 06/20/11 01:28 PM Re: hooking audya 4 to computer [Re: gruhs]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3115
and the square end (connector) of the cable connects to the back of the AUDYA4,

front USB ports are only for loading/playing styles/midi/songs etc

Top
#326832 - 06/20/11 01:37 PM Re: hooking audya 4 to computer [Re: leezone]
gruhs Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/11
Posts: 198
Loc: Indiana USA
just checking Walmart online and they have pictures like yours but they keep calling them printer cables. Think I'll go find a computer store and see what they have. Just for the heck of it I plugged my printer cable into the back of the Audya and it fit perfectly (just trying for fit, didn't do anything else yet)


Edited by gruhs (06/20/11 01:52 PM)

Top
#326834 - 06/20/11 02:10 PM Re: hooking audya 4 to computer [Re: gruhs]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3115
well yes, most printers nowadays use these cables,

but they are called USB A-B cables, used for MANY devices not just printers,

any store will have these cables Walmart, Target, Radio Shack even pharmacies like CVS, Walgreens, etc

Top
#326835 - 06/20/11 02:17 PM Re: hooking audya 4 to computer [Re: leezone]
gruhs Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/11
Posts: 198
Loc: Indiana USA
So are you still saying not to use a printer cable?

Top
#326836 - 06/20/11 02:39 PM Re: hooking audya 4 to computer [Re: gruhs]
Bernie9 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4646
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Specify USB A-B cable because the older printer cables used serial ports. Just to avoid any confusion, if it looks like the picture with a square end and a slot end opposite,get it.

Bernie
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#326878 - 06/21/11 08:43 AM Re: hooking audya 4 to computer [Re: gruhs]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Originally Posted By: gruhs
So are you still saying not to use a printer cable?



Yes it is a printer cable, these have been used on printers for the last 5 year, serial when out went out about Tyros 1.
or SD1.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online