SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#324230 - 05/15/11 06:10 AM AUDYA S/PDIF !?
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1109
Loc: FRANCE
Hi all,

I try to record my music from audya digital S/PDIF OUT to my computer card, to get the best audio quality recording.

Someone succeed on that task?

There is 3 options for the S/PDIF OUT : OFF - SPDIF - MAIN

What is the difference between SPDIF and MAIN, and why this changes the SPDIF IN line too?

WHAT is the s/pdif format? 44.1, 48? 16 bits? 24 bits?
Is there any sync clock on it?

My sound card LYNX TWO don't understand the Audya S/pdif

What to do?
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#324266 - 05/15/11 10:32 PM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: DAN.2000]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 718
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
So...The Audya clock in 48khz.....The Bit dont have problem!!..
24/16/or 32....
Select in Audya from SPDIF OUT (MAIN) to have control volume from Audya....
For play follow this:
From your card select (48 khz), and select EXTERNAL CLOCK from SPDIF..
Select in Audya from SPDIF OUT (MAIN) and make a check if play...
If it is ok, select from your DAW the digital Input to Record from this....
Try this....
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Yamaha Genos, Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
#324365 - 05/17/11 07:07 PM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: Sokratis 1974]
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1109
Loc: FRANCE
Thank you Sokratis,
I tested everything.
I have version 4.1b
The SPDIF is not working, but the SPDIF MAIN is working.
Note that the sliders does not control anything. But it's better.

I put the Audya sound card volume to the max (63) and the General EQ and WAV EQ to FLAT

To my hear, The SPDIF output sounds a little better than the analog ones ! More defined and mode spaced.

So I will probably record my wav tracks at 48Khz/16Bits

What do you think about it?

Dan
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#324373 - 05/17/11 10:47 PM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: DAN.2000]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 718
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
Yes.....With digital record, we have a very clean audio wav becouse is direct from Digital Convertor....
I use only SPDIF of Audya to record...
However I avoid putting the sound card in MAX (63)
I record the digital wav in (42) volume, and from Cubase i make normalize, or Compression, Limiting etc....


Edited by Sokratis 1974 (05/17/11 10:49 PM)
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Yamaha Genos, Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
#324376 - 05/18/11 03:06 AM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: Sokratis 1974]
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1109
Loc: FRANCE
I have this amazing sound card
http://www.lynxstudio.com/product_detail.asp?i=12#
And with the sound card at max 63, I don't get any clipping.

I am still not sure if I will use the digital clock of the SPDIF, or use the internal sound card clock who seems to sound a little bit better.

To get sound, I had to remove the 'Digital In Mute on error' option of my sound card !
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#333756 - 11/26/11 02:46 AM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: DAN.2000]
filipelou Offline
Member

Registered: 11/04/06
Posts: 391
Loc: Portugal
what's the best solution to connect these spdif out coaxial to an analog mixer?

Top
#333765 - 11/26/11 09:50 AM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: DAN.2000]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
something like this:

http://www.lindy.co.uk/spdif-digital-to-analogue-stereo-audio-converter/70408.html

but then why not simply use the Audya's internal D/A converter with the line outs?

Top
#333768 - 11/26/11 03:55 PM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: DAN.2000]
filipelou Offline
Member

Registered: 11/04/06
Posts: 391
Loc: Portugal
are you talking about main left right?

Top
#333784 - 11/27/11 02:05 AM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: filipelou]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 718
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
Originally Posted By: filipelou
are you talking about main left right?

The S PDIF is good to connect in a digital console <in a live gig or in a Studio>, or in a Sound Card to make a digital record....
This is a good method to you have a good clean digital wave in studio without noises etc....
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Yamaha Genos, Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
#333787 - 11/27/11 05:39 AM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: DAN.2000]
filipelou Offline
Member

Registered: 11/04/06
Posts: 391
Loc: Portugal
yes i know sokratis.i want to get rid of that problem of equalization left/right from main out and i thought to get sound from the spdif.Is it true that from spdif output sliders doesnt work?

Top
#333810 - 11/27/11 11:22 PM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: filipelou]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 718
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
Originally Posted By: filipelou
yes i know sokratis.i want to get rid of that problem of equalization left/right from main out and i thought to get sound from the spdif.Is it true that from spdif output sliders doesnt work?

Problem of equalization left/right???... What problem is it???
Sorry Filipe but I not understood...


Edited by Sokratis 1974 (11/27/11 11:22 PM)
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Yamaha Genos, Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
#333815 - 11/28/11 01:39 AM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: DAN.2000]
filipelou Offline
Member

Registered: 11/04/06
Posts: 391
Loc: Portugal
when you deal with DSP->Equalization and boost bass frequencies you get more bass of one channels.The sound is too much unbalanced

Top
#333817 - 11/28/11 03:51 AM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: filipelou]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 718
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
Originally Posted By: filipelou
when you deal with DSP->Equalization and boost bass frequencies you get more bass of one channels.The sound is too much unbalanced

Ok... However I have Flat the EQ of Audya and control the sound from external console...
I think its better smile
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Yamaha Genos, Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
#333818 - 11/28/11 04:00 AM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: DAN.2000]
filipelou Offline
Member

Registered: 11/04/06
Posts: 391
Loc: Portugal
Yes I thought you did, that's why you can not hear the difference.

Top
#333876 - 11/29/11 04:16 AM Re: AUDYA S/PDIF !? [Re: filipelou]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 718
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
Originally Posted By: filipelou
Yes I thought you did, that's why you can not hear the difference.

Filipe... I have test it....
However I like my way with external console. smile
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Yamaha Genos, Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online