SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#316430 - 02/14/11 01:59 AM Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems
Franconia Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/13/11
Posts: 30
Hello Audya users,
maybe you can help me solving the following problem when connecting my Midi Accordeon: when I choose the accordion 1 midi setting all the midi channels are OK. Unfortunately when I press the bass and chord buttons on the left hand of the accordeon, there are sounds to play manually. With my old MS40 I was able to shut them down and only to use them when I play traditional songs manually for example. When I use the styles I do not want to have them activated. Does anybody know how to get out of this manual playing mode ?
Regards,
Franconia

Top
#316436 - 02/14/11 06:24 AM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Franconia]
dreamer85 Offline
Member

Registered: 01/13/11
Posts: 131
Loc: Portugal
Hello Franconia

So, to the manual chords you have 2 lowers. If you dont want the automatic accompaniment, simply turn down the Chord Slider.

For Manual Bass, go to:

PLAY CONTROL -> BASS -> MANUAL
_________________________
www.youtube.com/lionelalexandre

Top
#316528 - 02/14/11 11:27 PM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Franconia]
Franconia Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/13/11
Posts: 30
Hello,

the problem is, that the bass is still playing even when I deactivate the manual bass setting (it is on automatic).
Does anybody know how to solve this ? Midi channels are correct.

Regards,

Franconia

Top
#316539 - 02/15/11 03:38 AM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Franconia]
dreamer85 Offline
Member

Registered: 01/13/11
Posts: 131
Loc: Portugal
Hello

Originally Posted By: Franconia
the bass is still playing even when I deactivate the manual bass setting (it is on automatic)


When you deactivate?? Is normal, but if you activate the manual bass setting, the bass still playing?
_________________________
www.youtube.com/lionelalexandre

Top
#317040 - 02/20/11 08:05 AM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: dreamer85]
Franconia Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/13/11
Posts: 30
Yes, does not make a difference if the bass button is on manual or not. Bass is still coming up, but only if the arranger is not running. As soon as a style is playing, the manual bass is off, when īthe style stops, I can play it manually again.
Regards,
Franconia

Top
#317165 - 02/21/11 08:50 AM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Franconia]
dreamer85 Offline
Member

Registered: 01/13/11
Posts: 131
Loc: Portugal
Hello

And you have the HOLD botton activaded? I think you need turn off.
_________________________
www.youtube.com/lionelalexandre

Top
#317303 - 02/22/11 08:17 AM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Franconia]
donpatt Offline
Member

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 463
Loc: Lufkin, TX.
Hi Franconia,

Maybe this will help! If you have the capability to set the chord and bass on the same MIDI channel it will eliminate the bass note playing when the arranger is not playing.
However, this limits the versitility somewhat!

When using the Audya 4, I set my bass and chords on the accordion to channel "6" and in the Audya 4 in MIDI Rx. set left to channel "6" and the bass (F3) to off. "-"

Obviously, in the accordion setup, Autochord and Bass to Chord should be ON.

Don P
_________________________
GENOS, Roland FR-8X V Accordion, Bose Compacts.

Top
#317881 - 02/28/11 05:36 PM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Franconia]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3205
Loc: Middletown, DE
Franconia,

To eliminate the lower chords you are hearing (manual notes heard only when you play a chord on your accordion and NOT the Arranger's Chords 1-5), please proceed as follows...

Turn down (all the way down) the LOWER Volume slidder on the left (under the ARRANGER area). You can then bring up this slidder when needed. This will MUTE your lower voices. ... for now.

To MUTE both LOWER voices permanently, please proceed as follows ...

* Press STYLE - MODE (From the default screen).
* Press LOWER (User 5/10).
* SET MUTE (F4) to "ON".
* EXIT to default page.
** To save so you don't repeat each time, press SAVE and CUSTOM START UP (F6).

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#318987 - 03/11/11 09:21 AM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Ketron_AJ]
gruhs Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/11
Posts: 198
Loc: Indiana USA
AJ,
That seems like the opposite of progress and improvement from say the MS40 from a few years back where there were two simple buttons...
manual base on or off and manual chords on or off. I'm struggling with this problem also using the Audya 4 and keep thinking the manual base button should do something but it dosen't???

gary

Top
#319684 - 03/20/11 08:16 AM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: gruhs]
John R Offline
Member

Registered: 11/10/04
Posts: 35
Loc: Victorville, California
AJ,
When I press the manual bass, it does what I want( the bass and my left hand cords on the accordion only, no arranger). This way I can use the drums with manual. However, how can I change the voices on them and how can I individually change the volumes? Both bass and chords tied into the same slider, the bass!
Thanks,
john

Top
#319717 - 03/20/11 04:36 PM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Franconia]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3205
Loc: Middletown, DE
* Press STYLE VIEW to access all style parts.
* Press F3(BASS) to highlight the bass.
* Now use the voice buttons to select the group from which you want to access a particular sound, or if you want to stay in the BASS group, turn the wheel to change the instrument.
** REMEMBER - the bass sound is associated with the style so unless you use the BASS LOCK Feature, each time you select a new style, a new sound will be recalled as well.

In STYLE VIEW, you can individually change the volumes (as displayed) by pressing the corresponding F-button (e.g F6 for chord 1 and use the < > data buttons to change the volume. Then save to the style to maintain for future use.
Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#319719 - 03/20/11 05:28 PM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Franconia]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3205
Loc: Middletown, DE
gary,

It is true - the MS40 was way less complicated to operate, but remember, it also had way less features!

With the AUDYA 4, you can (by simply pulling down a slidder - chords) take out the manual chords being heard when you play with the accordion, or by pressing the MANUAL BASS, play the bass manually while the Arranger Bass is instantly mutted; still relatively easy, just with a slidder rather than buttons!

What issue(s) are you running into outside what's mentioned above if I may ask?

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#319731 - 03/20/11 09:03 PM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Ketron_AJ]
gruhs Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/11
Posts: 198
Loc: Indiana USA
Hi AJ, some songs I like to play completely manually (that is without the style accompanyment) in which case the accordion base button sounds the base tone selected in the Audya. Other songs I play using the Audya styles which include the base sounds so I would rather that pressing the base button on the accordion didn't cause sound. On my Audya, pressing the accordion base button always makes the sound regardless of what the "base auto/manual" button on the Audya is set at. The "work around" I have come up with is to go into the Audya menu to the "midi receive channel set page" and change it from the usual "3" to a "4"... then no "manual" base sound occurs. As stated earlier the button on the Audya for base auto/manual appears do nothing as far as I can tell. As far as other problems other than the manual, some of the right hand voices have a volumn situation (extremly loud) that almost blows you out of the room when trying them ( I still go through them regulary to find what sounds best with certain songs). When ever I come across one of those I just pass it by and apologize to the wife again.
I'm looking forward to your tutorial and video to learn more about this great machine... Thanks

Top
#319752 - 03/21/11 06:52 AM Re: Using accordion with Audya 4 / problems [Re: Franconia]
Franconia Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/13/11
Posts: 30
Hi folks,
I was just talking to the guy of the Ketron hotline in Germany and I was told that this problem is known, but currently there is no solution to switch the bass off (By the way, you cannot hear the manual bass while the style is playing because styles have always priority). Nevertheless, the guy told me that there will be a feature called "Bass on stop" in a new software update. Release date not confirmed yet.
Franconia

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online