SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#310870 - 05/19/10 02:35 PM Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Hi Domenico.
You need to take a look at Linux Sampler and the changes your guys recently made for 4.2. The file I uploaded does not fix the problem with the GM Bank either. Your guys have broken something else altogether.

Everything is still out of place by one program, select Clavinet and the Harpsichord sound is loaded and so on...

Regards
James

Top
#310871 - 05/19/10 04:06 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
there is one way:

make Giga collection like 10 drumkits inside one collection file named Drums.gig
awave studio can do this

so make collections named:

Piano.gig
E-piano.gig
Guitar.gig
Strings.gig
Brass.gig
Flute.gig
Organ.gig
Reed.gig
Synth/Ethnic.gig
Fx/Drum.gig

do you remember the last value on LSCP file?

the value for variation inside a gig collection.

[This message has been edited by AFG Music (edited 05-19-2010).]

Top
#310872 - 05/19/10 05:33 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Hi AFG Music.

Thanks for your input, but in my opinion the only solution is for Domencio to fix what was broken. Asking end users to change the entire way they work with sounds and to move over to working with Giga file banks is by no stretch of the imagination acceptable.

Ok, this bug throws everything out of whack, but it's really only a very silly little bug that Domencio will likely spot the second he looks at the source code now that he knows there's something wrong. It's just one of those tiny little things that does quite a lot of damage, but is noting to get worried about at all.

Kind Regards
James

[This message has been edited by Irishacts (edited 05-19-2010).]

Top
#310873 - 05/20/10 04:08 AM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
ok, need this to for better and easier operation,

first create this Sound Catagory folders onside
SoundbankGM2 like your LSCP Program:

1-Piano-Chromatic Percussion-Organ-Guitar-Bass-Stings-Ensemble-Brass-Reed-Pipe-Synth lead-Synth Pad-Synth Effects-Ethnic-Percussive-
Sound Effects-Drum Kits.
2- move the instruments folders for each category inside Sound Catagory Folders.

this is a good way so inside each instrument folder you can more variations of that sound.

inside Piano Sound Catagory folders you most have this instruments folders:

001Acoustic Grand Piano-002 Bright Acoustic Piano-003 Electric Grand Piano-004 Honky Tonk Piano-005 Electric Piano 1-006 Electric Piano 2-007 Harpsichord-008 Clavinet.

Chromatic Percussion:

009 Celesta Patch-010...........-011.......


3-then you create LSCP file like this:


# Qsampler - A LinuxSampler Qt GUI Interface
# Version: 0.2.2
# Build: Aug 3 2009 21:07:48
#
# File: MS-02-instruments-1.lscp
# Date: mei 20 2010 12:52:55
#

# MIDI instrument map 0 - Chromatic
ADD MIDI_INSTRUMENT_MAP 'Chromatic'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 0 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Piano/001Acoustic\x20Grand\x20Piano/Steinway\x20model\x20C34mb.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Grand Model C '
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 1 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Piano/002\x20Bright\x20Acoustic\x20Piano/BrightPiano.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'BrightPiano'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 2 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Piano/003\x20Electric\x20Grand\x20Piano/003\x20Electric\x20Grand\x20Piano.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Electric Grand Piano'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 3 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Piano/004\x20Honky-Tonk\x20Piano/004\x20Honkie\x20tonk\x204Layer.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Honky Tonk '
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 4 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Piano/005\x20Electric\x20Piano\x201/05-00\x20E\x20Piano\x201.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'E Piano 1'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 5 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Piano/006\x20Electric\x20Piano\x202/06-00\x20E\x20Piano\x202.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'E Piano 2'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 6 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Piano/007\x20Harpsichord/Harpsichord\x2003.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Harpsichord'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 7 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Piano/008\x20Clavinet/CLAV.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'CLAV'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 8 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Chromatic\x20Percussion/009\x20Celesta\x20Patch/009\x20Celesta\x20std.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Celesta'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 9 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Chromatic\x20Percussion/010\x20Glockenspiel/010\x20glocken\x20std.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Glockenspiel'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 10 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Chromatic\x20Percussion/011\x20Music\x20Box/MusicBox.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'MusicBox'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 11 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Chromatic\x20Percussion/012\x20Vibraphone/012\x20vibra\x20Std.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Vibraphone'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 12 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Chromatic\x20Percussion/013\x20Marimba/013\x20marimba.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Marimba'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 13 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Chromatic\x20Percussion/014\x20Xylophone/014\x20Xylop.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Xylophone'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 14 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Chromatic\x20Percussion/015\x20Tubular\x20Bell/015\x20Tubolar\x20Bells.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Tubular Bells'
MAP MIDI_INSTRUMENT 0 0 15 GIG 'D:/SoundbankGM2/Chromatic\x20Percussion/016\x20Dulcimer/016\x20Dulcimer.gig' 0 0.9 ON_DEMAND 'Dulcimer'

# MIDI instrument map 1 - Drum Kits
ADD MIDI_INSTRUMENT_MAP 'Drum Kits'


and James maybe you know this but,but if anyone does not know \x20 means space on your LSCP text.

for example:

001Acoustic\x20Grand\x20Piano/Steinway\x20model\x20C34mb.gig

=

001Acoustic Grand Piano/Steinway model C34mb.gig


and perhaps Domenico may include F4 key function to make a new screen when you press the F4key on GIGA GM/GS Linux Sampler screen. so that you see on one screen instruments and when you select one instument you press the F4 key and you see and you are able to select variations sounds of this instrument



[This message has been edited by AFG Music (edited 05-20-2010).]

Top
#310874 - 05/20/10 05:38 AM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
James ans Domenico did you read the above post, so answer please

Top
#310875 - 05/20/10 12:21 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Hi AFG Music.

Quote:
1-Piano-Chromatic Percussion-Organ-Guitar-Bass-Stings-Ensemble-Brass-Reed-Pipe-Synth lead-Synth Pad-Synth Effects-Ethnic-Percussive-
Sound Effects-Drum Kits.
2- move the instruments folders for each category inside Sound Catagory Folders.
this is a good way so inside each instrument folder you can more variations of that sound.


Ok, but folders have nothing to do with the problem being reported.

Making lots of folders is a bad idea anyway. It was likely the main reason why over 80 sounds where not even referenced by the LSCP file anyway.

Remove humans and you remove human error.
Dump all the files into one folder and let LSCP Gen manage it all = no problems at all

Quote:
and James maybe you know this but,but if anyone does not know \x20 means space on your LSCP text.


Yes, but it's not needed. Linux Sampler has no problems reading paths and file names that are typed correctly.

Regards
James

Top
#310876 - 05/20/10 12:51 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
Hi AFG Music.

Yes, but it's not needed. Linux Sampler has no problems reading paths and file names that are typed correctly.

Regards
James


James,

How much is this sounding like Ketron to you, are you happy th Dom is going the right way with this.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#310877 - 05/20/10 01:19 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Hi Tony.

This is nothing at all like Ketron. Not even close. This is one  issue that has only popped up since the changes made in os 4.2 regarding Linux Sampler a few days ago and no doubth in another few days Domenico will have fixed this and a patch online.  

The level of progress made in this part of the forum would put ketron to shame in a massive way. I kid you not. More gets done here in one month than ketron could do in one year. 

Regards
James 

Top
#310878 - 05/20/10 01:19 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
QUOTE James
__________________________________________
Remove humans and you remove human error.
Dump all the files into one folder and let LSCP Gen manage it all = no problems at all
________________________________________

Just so I can confirm the methodology,

James you recommend I put ALL my Giga sample patches into one folder, rename that folder to SoundbankGM2 (as per AFG) then create the LSCP, and then transfer that SoundbankGM2 folder I created, with the LSCP over to the Giga Folder on the MS?

Thanks

Dennis

Top
#310879 - 05/20/10 01:20 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
I think that folders are not bad idea.

why:
1-you know where is each category and what the content is.
2-within each catagory each instument folder can have more than one instrument variation.
3-if people want to add new sound they know exacly wher the sound belong.


This is true this has nothin to do with reported problem.

but if your program will automatically use that folder and can make it automatically, it will be great. then only makes it easier for end users.

It is not true what you say about many folder. because the way, that instruments folder were and used inside SoundbankGM2 folder is not the same. it was not clear enough.

if you have first your catagory folders inside sound bank first. then instruments folders for each category, inside that catagory, you are working organized.

in this for example piano catagory folder has this instruments folder:

001Acoustic Grand Piano
002Bright Acoustic Piano
003Electric Grand Piano
004Honky-tonk Piano
005Electric Piano 1
006Electric Piano 2
007Harpichord
008Clavi

and the you have Chromatic Percussion caragory folder:

009.............
010.............
011.............
012.............
013.............
014.............
015.............
016.............

then you have oragan catagory folder:

017.............
018.............
019.............
020.............
021.............
022.............
023.............
024.............

and for example 001Acoustic Grand Piano folder inside catagory folder Piano can have more then 1 variation for example 10 Acoustic Grand Piano sounds

in this way maybe can also Domenico add that F4 function key as explained before


again thanks for your LSCP creator program release version


but about \x20 for space: Remember that qsampler and Jsampler fantasia are official LSCP creators for linux sampler and both write \x20 for space between words.

so it will have something to do with how linux sampler works with path addresses links




[This message has been edited by AFG Music (edited 05-20-2010).]

Top
#310880 - 05/20/10 01:47 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Hi Dennis. 

I'm away from my PC for the night so all I have is my iPhone here to type on so I have to keep this short. 

Yes you dump everything into a folder and just let LSCP Gen manage the lot.  The folder name can be anything you want. You don't have to call it SoundbankGM2 at all.  Whatever name you give the folder just make sure you use the same name in LSCP Gen for the folder name drop down menu (first itme on the left) and doing that will let the mediastation l ow where to find the gigafiles. 

I will pu together some videos on this tomorrow too. 

Cheers 
James 

Top
#310881 - 05/20/10 02:39 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
Hi Dennis. 

I'm away from my PC for the night so all I have is my iPhone here to type on so I have to keep this short. 

Yes you dump everything into a folder and just let LSCP Gen manage the lot.  The folder name can be anything you want. You don't have to call it SoundbankGM2 at all.  Whatever name you give the folder just make sure you use the same name in LSCP Gen for the folder name drop down menu (first itme on the left) and doing that will let the mediastation l ow where to find the gigafiles. 

I will pu together some videos on this tomorrow too. 

Cheers 
James 


Legend!!!

Thanks m8...

When you have time, (and maybe we can do via email), as its not stricly related to the forum, I would like to run through creating a video demo, but recording the sound via DAW.

I can run ausio recording and engineering almost in my sleep , but matching it to video, well this will be a first.

I know that on first look it seems pretty easy, but like all these things, it is a LOT more involved that what you see!!

Cheers,

Dennis

Top
#310882 - 05/20/10 10:16 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
this evening I release a nice update on GFTP server.
Patience some more hours..

Top
#310883 - 05/20/10 10:34 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by LIONSTRACS:
this evening I release a nice update on GFTP server.
Patience some more hours..


Thanks Dom...

Dennis

Top
#310884 - 05/20/10 10:39 PM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
For who don't remember, the gFTP tool is located on KDE>Internet>gFTP
After running, you have to open the bookmarks and you find the encrypted LIONSTRACS library:

Of course the MS/Groove must be connected in Internet.

Top
#310885 - 05/21/10 03:34 AM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
thanks Domenico,


and the F4 key function for variation sounds, is there any possibility to do for you or not?


thanks

[This message has been edited by AFG Music (edited 05-21-2010).]

Top
#310886 - 05/21/10 04:29 AM Re: Priority fix for Linux Sampler needed
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
fixed the LSCP sampler right now.
the -1 number bug was also on Combi mode
now all fixed

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online