SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#310808 - 05/17/10 06:26 PM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Never fails to impress how a few hours of coding can save days of manual work while also avoiding human error. A few hours to write the script and it takes only 5 seconds to process every file & line of the LSCP file.

Here's a printout of the official Lionstracs GM bank processed by my script and LSCP Gen.
CLICK HERE

Ver 1.0 of LSCP Gen will also contain Bandstand fully populated into the program.
CLICK HERE

Quote:
Definitely several pints of Guiness in this one m8!!


lol.... When beer is involved I'll hold you to that

Quote:
Hey, did you get your soundcard issue (headphones) sorted?


No. I would have to buy one of the new boards if I wanted to solve the problem. It's something I might consider in the future but right now it's the least of my worries. It's not easy being self employed in a recession. There's very little programming work available and the studio is very quite. Seems all I do lately is silly jobs that take up too much time and offer far too little pay for what I have to do. Still... I'm thankful of what I can get and don't ever want to focus on the negative side of all this. Hopefully things will get better soon though.

Cheers
James

[This message has been edited by Irishacts (edited 05-17-2010).]

Top
#310809 - 05/17/10 06:43 PM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Great work...Yes a little bit of programming can save HEAPS of time ...

I was just never mathematical enough to learn it all

Any idea of when the LSCP v 1.00 will be ready?

Dennis

Top
#310810 - 05/17/10 06:46 PM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
It's something I might consider in the future but right now it's the least of my worries. It's not easy being self employed in a recession. There's very little programming work available and the studio is very quite. Seems all I do lately is silly jobs that take up too much time and offer far too little pay for what I have to do. Still... I'm thankful of what I can get and don't ever want to focus on the negative side of all this. Hopefully things will get better soon though.

Cheers
James

[This message has been edited by Irishacts (edited 05-17-2010).]


Yes that is something we forget about a bit out here in OZ, we have been well insulated against most of the GFC due in part to our already strong economy before, some good government policies aduring, and the massive $'s coming in for all the minerals exports.

You guys in Europe are really doing it tough. I don't think Greece will be where it all ends either, sadly.

Dennis

Top
#310811 - 05/18/10 05:41 AM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
A little update.

Just imported the Lionstracs main GM bank into my program and ran a scan on it for errors. There are 76 giga files in the folder that are not even referenced in the LSCP file, and there are some sounds in the LSCP file that are referenced, but there are no giga files for them. Some sounds are even listed twice in the same program slots.

It would take ages to sort out all this by hand so I'm writing a script that will rename every file in the library and sort it all out.

Domencio, I'd highly recommend replacing your GM library with what my script ends up generating. It's going to be smaller in size too as old files that are not even in use are cut away.

Regards
James


really a good job James, compliments!
Listen, I suggest to make some more nice...
May you update/replace some of my own giga GM sounds that you think will sounds better and then RAR the whole new soundbank ( including inside one copy of the new LSCP file) ?
Then I can release officially for the all MS/Groove users as new standard giga GM sounbank.
I need this also for develope the all new Audio styles, that the sounbak will be compatible with the all new styles.
Read also my last email...

Top
#310812 - 05/18/10 06:37 AM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Quote:
May you update/replace some of my own giga GM sounds that you think will sounds better and then RAR the whole new soundbank ( including inside one copy of the new LSCP file) ?


I'd love to, and I will be doing this for myself soon as I get ver 1.0 of LSCP Gen finished, but it would be impossible for me to share the library due to the fact that the content I will be adding will come from a wide range of commercial libraries.

Quote:
Read also my last email..


Ok will do. Just so you know, if you see me online and I'm not answering emails that's because I'm likely on my Laptop and not my NetBook. I've only setup my mail on my Netbook simply because I get more work done that way when I'm working on my Laptop

Regards
James

Top
#310813 - 05/18/10 06:55 AM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
Ok will do. Just so you know, if you see me online and I'm not answering emails that's because I'm likely on my Laptop and not my NetBook. I've only setup my mail on my Netbook simply because I get more work done that way when I'm working on my Laptop

Regards
James


ok, no prob about the library
Maybe you can just browser from my big library folder and copy some more interesting sound to include/update the sounbank.
In this way you will be in safe without stress.
Just choose you the best sounds and ADD...
cheers

Top
#310814 - 05/18/10 06:57 AM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Quote:
Originally posted by miden:
Great work...Yes a little bit of programming can save HEAPS of time ...

I was just never mathematical enough to learn it all

Any idea of when the LSCP v 1.00 will be ready?

Dennis


Should have it online by tomorrow night. I'm just writing the code for one last function right now that organises the library.

For example... right now when you add sounds to LSCP Gen they are displayed on the table in the order you add them. So unless you add them in order like Program 1,2,3... and so on, the table would get very messy looking and you would find it hard to visually see what you have added and haven't added to all the program numbers. It would make it quite hard to see if your using all 128 program number for example.

Now that does not matter any more. You can add the sounds in any order you want and at the press of a button it will scan the entire database and reorganise all your sounds. All the instruments will be grouped together and sorted by Program number followed by variation number.

So for example... all sounds assigned to Program 1,2 and 3 will be displayed together like so.
Program 1 Variation 0
Program 1 Variation 1
Program 1 Variation 2
Program 1 Variation 3
Program 2 Variation 0
Program 3 Variation 0
Program 3 Variation 1


And so on....

Same goes for all the drum kits. If you scroll down past Program 128 all the drum kits will be organised in the same way at the bottom of the list.

So regardless of how you assemble your bank or if you add more sounds to progarms at a later date, a single press of a button and the entire table is organised by Sound type, Program Number and Variation number.

Everything will always look very neatly displayed and you will never feel out of control when dealing with a large library of sounds. Cool huh

James


[This message has been edited by Irishacts (edited 05-18-2010).]

Top
#310815 - 05/18/10 12:28 PM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
So James cna you explain to me the program system on this LSCP?

I mean, I know fully well, programs and banks and the methods in determining them in MIDI, but this LSCP is a different beast altogether.

I have noticed on those PDF's that you had varying programs (indeed there were some had the same program number, but a different instrument??) and variation numbers.

Where did they come from, or how are they determined?

Thanks
Dennis

Top
#310816 - 05/18/10 08:10 PM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Hi Dennis.
lol... I'm not sure myself because Linuxsampler.org it's very poor for explaining how things should be implemented.

So what Im doing here and I hope I'm right is....., basically if you take Program 1 for example, you can assign 128 sounds to that slot by using the variation option.

So program 1 variation 0 would be say... Piano.
Then program 1 variation 1 could be another sound.
And so on.... all the way up to variation 127. 0 to 127 = 128 slots.

Then you have program 2 all the way to 128 for more sounds. Each with a possible 128 variation slots.

The idea of just doing it this way is because the GM banks are divided up into categories so if your going to add lots of sounds, you can use the program numbers and variations slots to have your sounds displayed in the categories you want.

For example, it would be silly to add a Trumpet sound to program 1 variation 1 since that's the category for Piano type sounds.

Regards
James

Top
#310817 - 05/18/10 09:08 PM Re: Two Issues with 4.2
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Thanks James, and that makes sense to me...BUT how is it displayed on the patch select screens on the MS?

And how do you access them via either Rosegarden, or Qranger/Tractor? TO use them in say, midi files...

You get what Im saying dont you? I want to be able to access these "higher bank sounds" and have them embed into midis.

As far as I have been able to ascertain, the Rosegarden sequencer, and Qranger seem stuck on one set of 128 sounds...

Maybe Dom could shed some more light, but as he has sadi before MIDI is nto his strong point, now if it were TCP stuff, no worries.

I am still waiting to hear how we could use the Behrginger FCB 1010 pedal...And of course thats the other thing not in Linux, Sysex messages...

I am really trying to find ways to make the MS, the go to workstation for everything...And on paper it SHOULD do pretty much everything apart from final mixing and engineering..

Dennis

Top
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online