SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#310731 - 05/14/10 07:55 AM 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Well guys.... what do you think of the final release of version 4.2 so far ?

I installed it myself last night and only got to play around with the keyboard for 2 or 3 hours, but from what I've seen everything (except Wine) I had reported has been fixed.

Even the velocity spike was even gone.

Didn't get a chance to check out the new Media Player though. I loaded it up, but because it didn't fit on the screen I will have to wait until later and I connect an external monitor to get the most from it.

Will be doing more testing today but so far I'm very very happy. If the issues regarding wine are fixed in the next release, well then that will be it for me.

Regards
James

Top
#310732 - 05/14/10 08:25 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
OS 4.2rev1932?
Is old now... I'm on rev 1941..
for the wine, stil not ful time for testing it, we are assembly more Groove X-7 for tastenpoint.

for the MIXXX ( you have under KDE>multimedia>mixxx
you can add on preferites and then you have on Kde start.
run it, wil ask you the main music directory, just choose one and press enter
wil start Mixxx, but I know is bigger gui.
open the prefersnces and under interface you can choose MANY type, small, large, compact and diffent colors.
the mini compact will fit good and also some space on desktop.
load some Mp3/wav...drag/drop too, or just select one file and double enter the MS Enter key ( emulate the mouse) and wil load it
then press play on the Gui and have fun
touch the waveform anbd scroll FF and FW...scratch...
all features are displayed on mixxx webpage or on the video demo on my site.
cheers

Top
#310733 - 05/14/10 08:39 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Excellent, thanks for the tips and the update.
I'm looking forward to checking this out.

I had a few of my DJ Friends in the Studio last night and they were messing around with the default media player and the midi interface.

They connected my 1500W full Colour Stage light to the Mediastation and they were able to control the light directly from the Mediastations using Midi and the sliders. Looked pretty freaking cool if you ask me.

Gave me the idea that when I'm gigging with the keyboard, I could use one slighter to make the light produce a pure white colour at the end of each song, and they during the songs I could pull back the slider and the light would go through it's program cycle.

It's crazy... anything is possible with this mad keyboard

Regards
James

Top
#310734 - 05/14/10 09:02 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
nice, then make a vidoe demo, I wil see how this light are working.
also for the DJ Mixxx.. do you know that you can connect by USB ANY DJ midi controller and full control the MIXXX.
here the features and controllers: http://www.mixxx.org/features.php

Top
#310735 - 05/14/10 09:45 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
I'm here also testing the new groove X-7 RED that I shipping to Zmago monday.
Is running from this morning, you can see that Jack is running from last reset from 9 hours:


Only 4 xruns ( one every time you run a new asio host) and 22 total when I made some test mistake.
I think is really a good stable OS and with latency still at 0!
Com on...with Windows you can have this same performance??

Top
#310736 - 05/14/10 10:41 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
Quote:

Only 4 xruns ( one every time you run a new asio host) and 22 total when I made some test mistake.
I think is really a good stable OS and with latency still at 0!
Com on...with Windows you can have this same performance?? [/B]


windows can dream,


can you please answer my last e-mail please?

Top
#310737 - 05/14/10 10:45 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Quote:
with Windows you can have this same performance??


No but I do wish we could adjust the buffer settings. As you know I have buffer under-run noises on certain plug-ins and either the memory leak in wine is the cause or the buffer settings being too small.

Personally I feel it's the buffer. I'd rather have 3 or 4ms latency and plug-ins I can use rather than 0ms latency and buffer under-run noises.

Why can't we adjust this buffer anyway ?

Regards
James

Top
#310738 - 05/14/10 11:05 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
mmm..ok..lets try you to change the buffer, maybe will resolve some under wine but then we lose some latency..

Open your file manager and shown also the hidden files.
in your home you will find the .jackdrc
This is the setup jack configuration file when booting the OS.

double click and wil open with kwrite.
inside you will see:
/usr/bin/jackd -R -t10000 -dalsa -dhw:0 -r44100 -p128 -n2 -Xseq

the: -p128 = mean the buffer frames, you can edit ONLY the numbers like to: 32, 64, 128, 256, 512..and so on
try to set to 256, save the file and reboot

test if wine work better or then try to give more buffer, like on windows, normally they use 512 frames buffer.

If you will return back, just set at 128 and save.

Test and let me know
IF we find a good compromise, then I will update on the next OS too.

Top
#310739 - 05/14/10 01:41 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Hi Domenico.

I've edited that file but it does not seem to have any effect on Jack. After reboot it still defaults to 128.

Regards
James

Top
#310740 - 05/14/10 01:51 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
BTW: The modulation wheel causes notes to hang now the second you touch it, and if I try to enter calibration for the wheel, the entire Lionstracs OS goes down and I'm left with just Linux on it's own.

Regards
James

[This message has been edited by Irishacts (edited 05-14-2010).]

Top
#310741 - 05/14/10 02:05 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
This issue I am having with the mod wheel, is it does not return the value to 0, after engaging.

But if you change to another device, IE go from the Dream Chip to Giga sounds it resets, go back to Dreamchip it resets, go to VST it resets, but while you are in the same it stays fully on.

Also it goes to full on, at the slightest touch, not graduated....

Re-calibrating does not help either.

Still experimenting for the hung notes, James has had.

All else on 4.2 seems okay

Dennis



[This message has been edited by miden (edited 05-14-2010).]

Top
#310742 - 05/14/10 02:07 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
Hi Domenico.

I've edited that file but it does not seem to have any effect on Jack. After reboot it still defaults to 128.

Regards
James


ok, this is not this file setup..I have to ask to 64studio where is located the right one.
jack start before the lionstracs application, it mean that is not on our script
I let you know when I get the reply from Free Ekanayaka

Top
#310743 - 05/14/10 02:09 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
BTW: The modulation wheel causes notes to hang now the second you touch it, and if I try to enter calibration for the wheel, the entire Lionstracs OS goes down and I'm left with just Linux on it's own.

Regards
James

[This message has been edited by Irishacts (edited 05-14-2010).]


this mean that you are calibrating under Joystick mode.
Touch the small RED icon and will change the interface to wheels.
the press ENTER to start and follow the information position that you have to give.
after each wheels position, press Enter to the next step

Top
#310744 - 05/14/10 02:11 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
on the ISO, by default is installed the Joystick hardware setup, for that you get this issue.
Calibrating under WHEEL mode and also you can invert the axix how you like.
Just formatted 8 Groove X-7 with wheels and I have to calibrate again each keyboard.
The tool is working, just have to understand how...

Top
#310745 - 05/14/10 02:21 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
Miden and James,can you also test this. if you use headphones, press phones key and then set main mixer slider up or down, you get modulation effect on specially layer 4 sound, and for get off the modulation effect you have to press reset key!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I get this problem a long time, after my MS is repaired.

[This message has been edited by AFG Music (edited 05-14-2010).]

Top
#310746 - 05/14/10 02:23 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Thanks Dom,

Working fine now. Had to go into NOT the Calibration tab, but the Left/Right Joy or Modulation Wheel tab.

Turned the red ON/OFF button at bottom left to off, and the Mod wheel works as it should.

Cheers,
Dennis

PS: Now I will try a re-boot and see if it "remembers"...

[This message has been edited by miden (edited 05-14-2010).]

Top
#310747 - 05/14/10 02:24 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by AFG Music:
Miden and James,can you also test this. if you use headphones, press phones key and then set main mixer slider up or down, you get modulation effect on specially layer 4 sound, and for get off the modulation effect you have to press reset key!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


By the way Dom, its Dennis...NOT miden...Don't be so formal

Top
#310748 - 05/14/10 02:28 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
you mean AFG Music, Dennis

Top
#310749 - 05/14/10 02:30 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Sorry Dom, nope it does not save the setting.

When you re-boot, the same issue starts. Have to go back to config and do again everytime it restarts.

I DID click save, and even gave it a name.

Dennis

When press reset, it does reset the controller, but the second you touch the mod wheel, it goes straight to full modulation and stays there.

[This message has been edited by miden (edited 05-14-2010).]

Top
#310750 - 05/14/10 02:36 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by AFG Music:
you mean AFG Music, Dennis


ROTFL ...Oops sorry AFG...Yep thats what I meant!!!

Dennis

Top
#310751 - 05/14/10 02:42 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by miden:
Sorry Dom, nope it does not save the setting.

When you re-boot, the same issue starts. Have to go back to config and do again everytime it restarts.

I DID click save, and even gave it a name.

Dennis

When press reset, it does reset the controller, but the second you touch the mod wheel, it goes straight to full modulation and stays there.

[This message has been edited by miden (edited 05-14-2010).]


Okay, did it a second time and this time it worked. On re-boot no problems...

Dennis.

PS: I still cannot get the hanging notes yet James? But you might have a different setup to me.

[This message has been edited by miden (edited 05-14-2010).]

Top
#310752 - 05/14/10 03:33 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Quote:
Originally posted by LIONSTRACS:
this mean that you are calibrating under Joystick mode.
Touch the small RED icon and will change the interface to wheels.
the press ENTER to start and follow the information position that you have to give.
after each wheels position, press Enter to the next step


Hi Domenico.

I can't even access the calibration screen to select this icon. The second I try to enter the calibration screen the entire Lionstracs software crashes and I have to reboot.

Regards
James

Top
#310753 - 05/14/10 05:08 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Hi guys.

Lets stick a pin in this one for the moment. I decided that in the morning I'm going to install the OS again only this time around I'm going to do a full format.

Just have a feeling that my problems are caused by old files.

Cheers
James

Top
#310754 - 05/14/10 05:31 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Just as a fyi James, I did my install with the "Keep Data" option...

As you said though, you may have many more older files on your system than mine..

Let us know how you get on..

Dennis

Top
#310755 - 05/15/10 12:03 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
Hi guys.

Lets stick a pin in this one for the moment. I decided that in the morning I'm going to install the OS again only this time around I'm going to do a full format.

Just have a feeling that my problems are caused by old files.

Cheers
James


Do not need to format.
IF during the calibrarion the OS crash, mean that the hardware file configuration is wrong. it mean that the X-Y position of the Joystick not match with the wheels and for that the tool crash.
Just open the Preset folder and DELETE the madiastation_hardware file.
In this file is stored the wheels/joystick calibration position.
Delete it, restart the players and calibrate again under WHEELS mode.

Top
#310756 - 05/15/10 09:36 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 8137
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
I installed 4.2 with "keep data" and do not have the problems listed above...

On another plus note, the long standing problems I use to have with modulation and pitch wheels (Similar to James problem)..seem to have gone..
_________________________


www.francarango.com

Top
#310757 - 05/15/10 10:17 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
No joy in deleting that file.

The keyboard is not even booting up everytime right since the update. Not even Linux is comming up right. Linux is asking me for login details at the command prompt.

Not to worry.... Doing a full format right now. If it's working for you guys it should be working for me. Somthing odd must have just happened when using the keep data option.

Regards
James.

Top
#310758 - 05/15/10 11:18 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
No joy in deleting that file.

The keyboard is not even booting up everytime right since the update. Not even Linux is comming up right. Linux is asking me for login details at the command prompt.

Not to worry.... Doing a full format right now. If it's working for you guys it should be working for me. Somthing odd must have just happened when using the keep data option.

Regards
James.


if you have a good backup, nothing to worry, when you use format option.

Top
#310759 - 05/15/10 12:36 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Yep...just completed the full OS install and my Mod wheels are back working again.

Strange one but hey... at least it's working.

Noticed 1 problem with the OS update so far. There seems to be a problem switching between GM Instruments and GM Drum kits.

The keyboard does not change always between them. You might for example load a drum kit and hear it, then try go back to a Piano and you still have a drum kit.

Regards
James

Top
#310760 - 05/15/10 12:51 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 8137
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
SynthZone members...take notice..I mentioned before how MS users are a great bunch, always helpful with a common goal of making the MS the best it can be...Notice the harmony and courteous attitudes.....Do you hear me Diki?..
_________________________


www.francarango.com

Top
#310761 - 05/15/10 01:13 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
lol.... Found the problem.

Domenico
When you made the change to how Gigasampler reads the LSCP files, you forgot to add a value of 1 to all program numbers.

For example, previously 0 0 0 was program 1. Now because you are not adding the 1, 0 0 0 is program 0 and 0 0 1 is program 1.

So every single GM sound is in the wrong place and any called program 0 will not send a program change command.

Regards
James

Top
#310762 - 05/15/10 01:18 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
Yep...just completed the full OS install and my Mod wheels are back working again.

Strange one but hey... at least it's working.

Noticed 1 problem with the OS update so far. There seems to be a problem switching between GM Instruments and GM Drum kits.

The keyboard does not change always between them. You might for example load a drum kit and hear it, then try go back to a Piano and you still have a drum kit.

Regards
James


Yeah James, I noticed that too with moving between say the Giga bank (tab 4, Split-Layer) and user for example.

The patch loaded stayed in mem, and I had to press the second one on the selection tabs (screen) then re-press the first one again to "remind" the MS to go to the new area. Not really a big deal as its quick to do, but still it happens.

It MIGHT be something to do with some being "persistent" and some being "on demand" ???

Anyhoo as I said, for me, not a major thing. And everything else is working fine.

Dennis

Edited to add: My post must have been going at the same time James.......Yes what you say there makes perfect sense..Lets experiment with that and see if it makes a difference. I do know how to use the Qsampler engine so I can edit the LSCP with that.

BTW have you tried running it out to a big screen yet? Makes working on the MS even easier...and its a doddle to set up

D



[This message has been edited by miden (edited 05-15-2010).]

Top
#310763 - 05/15/10 01:23 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
so becouse you guys did not answered this i post one more time:

Dennis and James:

can you also test this. if you use headphones, press phones key and then set main mixer slider up or down, you get modulation effect on specially layer 4 sound, and for get off the modulation effect you have to press reset key!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I get this problem a long time, after my MS is repaired.



[This message has been edited by AFG Music (edited 05-15-2010).]

Top
#310764 - 05/15/10 01:43 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by AFG Music:
so becouse you guys did not answered this i post one more time:
Dennis and James:

can you also test this. if you use headphones, press phones key and then set main mixer slider up or down, you get modulation effect on specially layer 4 sound, and for get off the modulation effect you have to press reset key!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I get this problem a long time, after my MS is repaired.
[This message has been edited by AFG Music (edited 05-15-2010).]


Sorry AFG, my bad... I mis-read your orignal post. I did not realise you WANTED us to test.

I will do that right now, as the MS is off so it will be a fresh boot...

Dennis

[This message has been edited by miden (edited 05-15-2010).]

Top
#310765 - 05/15/10 01:50 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3351
Loc: The World
Just tested that AFG,
Phones on mainslider up and down; back to main out slider, up and down; jumped different banks and then back to layer 4 re-did slider;

No issues. Certainly NO modulation of any sort.

The only thing I noticed is some "slight" digital artefacts as you moved the slider up or down too quickly whilst having an audible sound, but this is normal for a digital output.

Dennis

Top
#310766 - 05/15/10 01:52 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
thanks Dennis, now i wait for James answer to.

Top
#310767 - 05/15/10 02:28 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 8137
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by AFG Music:
thanks Dennis, now i wait for James answer to.


I ran the same test...no problem here..
_________________________


www.francarango.com

Top
#310768 - 05/15/10 02:30 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 8137
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
AFG, is it possible you accidentaly moved the mod wheel..I had a problem in the past with the mod wheel acting up..
_________________________


www.francarango.com

Top
#310769 - 05/15/10 03:27 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally posted by Fran Carango:
AFG, is it possible you accidentaly moved the mod wheel..I had a problem in the past with the mod wheel acting up..


what you mean, becouse Domenico or someone from lionstracs italy has forgotten to connect again joystick cabel after repair. so joystick is not working. it happens when you press phones key, and move MAIN MIX to set volume for the head phones louder or softer.


[This message has been edited by AFG Music (edited 05-15-2010).]

Top
#310770 - 05/15/10 04:54 PM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Quote:
Originally posted by AFG Music:
thanks Dennis, now i wait for James answer to.


Hello.

There's no point in me even trying. My B-Stock unit has a fault in the Sound board. In short the headphone phone socket does not work at all and only produces loud static.

Sorry.

James

Top
#310771 - 05/25/10 03:11 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by Irishacts:
Hi Domenico.

I've edited that file but it does not seem to have any effect on Jack. After reboot it still defaults to 128.

Regards
James


Ok, 64stidio told me where is the file to editing ffor change the buffer.
is located:
/etc/init.d/mediastation-bin

Inside the file, look at this string setting:
ACKD_OPTIONS="-t 4999 -s -R -m -d alsa -d hw:0 -p 128 -n 2 -r 44100"

128 is the current buffer, try to edit with the resolution that you need to test and let me know if is working better.
( backup the file before made disaster.. )

Also finally is come out the new Wine 1.2!
I will test soon and if is working wil be available on the ISO

Top
#310772 - 05/25/10 03:18 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Here the shoot, with buffer at 256

Please..not increase to much..like to 512..I will not to be SLOOOOOW like Windows...

Top
#310773 - 05/25/10 05:54 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
Irishacts Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/18/01
Posts: 1631
Loc: Ireland
Quote:
Ok, 64stidio told me where is the file to editing ffor change the buffer.


Ohhh baby.... YEAH...!!!!
I'm sure all it needs is a tiny tweak and I bet things will run way better for me. 256 will likely be the magic number.

Quote:
Also finally is come out the new Wine 1.2!
I will test soon and if is working wil be available on the ISO


Lovley stuff...!!! This is great news because at the moment I have to be slow at doing things to give the system time and I don't change between VSTI's in the same ASIO for fear of the audio getting cut off. Between v1.2 and being able to adjust the audio buffers I should be laughing soon. It's just a hairs breath away from being perfect and I have a feeling that this update and the buffer tweak will be the answer.

Thanks for the great work.

Cheers
James.

Top
#310774 - 05/25/10 07:10 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
First test with the audio buffer.
Christian ( my main OS developer and sampler developer) have also made the Linuxsampler VSTi and they get some of this issue too under windows.
Seem like a lot of VST are running better if the buffer is more high, but then of course will have more latency.

If you look also the Reaper on they home page shoots, they setup normally to 256 or 512 frame buffer, but you can see that the basic latency is from 7 to 22ms! ( incredible...)


Just install reaper on your MS, open with Wine, configure the midi ports and then llok at the TOP right windows, like this original one under Windows.
Let me know what our system report as latency...
I really dont know how they can use one application with 22ms of latency..
Poor shame Windows OS...

Top
#310775 - 05/25/10 10:47 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 4533
Loc: English Riviera, UK
Typical latency in Windows with an ASIO driver is 3ms with buffer set at 256, (Assuming youre using a quality sound card) and as the average hardware board latency is 2ms, (All digital keyboards have latency) then going for ridiculously low latency is just a waste of CPU power. (Tests have shown that 5ms is inaudible to the human ear)
Regards

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#310776 - 05/26/10 08:40 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally posted by abacus:
Typical latency in Windows with an ASIO driver is 3ms with buffer set at 256, (Assuming youre using a quality sound card) and as the average hardware board latency is 2ms, (All digital keyboards have latency) then going for ridiculously low latency is just a waste of CPU power. (Tests have shown that 5ms is inaudible to the human ear)
Regards

Bill


yes, abacus but with linux is possible to have a very lower latency with a normal PC soundcard and not high tech soundcard.

if you use high tech soundcard with linux then windows can only dream.

leave all other things where linux is stronger then windows behind and see only this. pity, they must even start with linux education at schools,

because the only OS that has much to offer, and it's free too.

Top
#310777 - 05/26/10 09:02 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
AFG Music Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/09
Posts: 513
Doemnico do you use this between jack and VSTHost:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/wineasio/

????

Top
#310778 - 05/26/10 09:15 AM Re: 4.2 Final.. Well guys ?
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by AFG Music:
Doemnico do you use this between jack and VSTHost:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/wineasio/

????


yes, we use this wineasio Jack driver
also you can use the .dll and open with: Fst

Top
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online