SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#300567 - 12/09/10 04:40 PM G-70 problem, probably midi settings related
trident Offline

Loc: Athens, Greece
Posted this on Roland Arrangers also...

Today my G70 started behaving weird. I finally connected the MIDI cables to the PC, and a USB cable (I couldn't make it work) and after a little while I started having a problem with the balance knob.

Actually, at some point, I couldn't get a sound from the right hand and since I am a complete novice to the workings of this particular keyboard, I switched on and off (not momentarily) to see if the problem would go away. It didn't and after 1-2 minutes of looking around I realized that the balance knob was all the way to the left. I brought it back and the problem was solved.

Fast forward another 1-2 minutes and I tried to correct the balance a little and when I moved the knob a little to the left (say 11 o' clock) the right hand sound completely disappeared and never came back no matter what. I moved the knob to the middle (12 o clock) pressed a random UPG, sound balance came back, pressed the "part" button and moved the balance knob to the left slowly. I could see the levels of the various parts completely fall to zero and never coming back.

fast forward another 5-6 minutes while I rest my hands from typing.... after a little more button pushing, I now know that the pot beneath the knob is not faulty, because while playing with the Midi easy settings I realized that If i press "song parts" on, MIDI output on, and local on , the knob behaves correctly, while if I choose "Keyboard and style parts", "MIDI output" and "local off", it kills any sound if moved before 11 or after 2 o clock.

So the actual problem seems to lie in the Midi settings and those are a mystery to me.