SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#299147 - 11/12/10 03:58 PM Re: Playing in any key
Songman55 Offline

Loc: Baltimore, MD USA
Part of being a musician is the ability to play in any key. Many of us here are entertainers and with today's instruments, it's not necessary to play in any key. I've always prided myself in my ability to play in any key. Although I make my living as an entertainer, I am also a trained musician. There are advantages to being both. I also read music. I like most of you learned how to play by ear first and I wouldn't trade that for anything. For me, learning how to read has been helpful in my career.

Joe

#299148 - 11/12/10 04:12 PM Re: Playing in any key
Scottyee Offline

Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...
ditto to what Joe said

#299149 - 11/12/10 10:16 PM Re: Playing in any key
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
I CAN play in any key but I'm a lot more comfortable in certain ones. As Rory says many licks are much more natural in certain keys.
Bill, our friend Richard Wells (who also happens to be blind) can play MORE than adequately in any key. He has perfect pitch and I don't believe he is capable of hitting a wrong note. When I worked with him, I didn't have to tell him what key I was going to be in, just which instrument I wanted him to play. He is amazing on keys, sax, clarinet, flute, harmonica and BAGPIPES. Last I heard he was learning guitar also.
Rory reminds me so much of Richard except Rory is way past him on guitar. They actually both sound a lot alike on vocals.
For the rest of you, Richard has two brothers, Charles and Talmadge. All three are just about equally talented. Talmadge's best instrument is probably guitar.