SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#29313 - 12/13/05 11:14 AM Sd1 vs Tyros 2
pasadoble Offline
Member

Registered: 11/30/01
Posts: 218
Loc: Portsmouth, England.UK
Hi guys

I recently purchased a Tyros 2 which does not meet my requirments for live use although it sounds great so I'm thinking of a SD1 as there are so many happy SD1 owners.

I play to a very high standard backing voclalists and need easy instant access to styles for segue'ing, my problem with the Tyros2 is the the close proximity of one of the registration buttons to another important button and the high risk of hitting the wrong one during a performance.

With the SD1 can you name folders and registrations as with the top end Yamahas or is it just a numerical keypad access and how does the sound compare to the Tyros2.

Are there any SD1 or X1 owners in the Hants area of the UK who would be willing to demo for me.
http://website.lineone.net/~davegladding/threes_company.htm

Rgds

Noel Jay

Top
#29314 - 12/13/05 01:51 PM Re: Sd1 vs Tyros 2
Craig_UK Offline
Member

Registered: 11/23/04
Posts: 914
Loc: UK
I don't live near you (I'm Derbyshire) but I have the SD1 and the Tyros 2. I know what you mean with the buttons on the Yamaha but personally I don't find it any trouble. Some buttons on the SD1 are also situated close to one another. It's a case of getting used to it. Have you thought of getting a USB light for the Tyros 2 and plugging it in? They work as a mate of mine uses one. He can easily see his music and all buttons when the stage lights are dimmed. He had a few wrong button presses until he got used to all the locations of them.
Both the Tyros 2 and SD1 have fantastic sounds, styles and features but the way they operate is totally different and I find the Yamaha is far easier to set up and navigate out of the 2. The SD1 seems to offer a little more punch in the bass end, but I prefer the styles on the Tyros 2.
My SD1 is actually for sale and I'm going to put it into the Keyboard Cavalcade mag asap.
I've also got a G1000 so having 3 arranger keyboards has become far too much for me.

Top
#29315 - 01/11/06 11:52 AM Re: Sd1 vs Tyros 2
CHALKY u.k Offline
Member

Registered: 03/03/01
Posts: 44
Loc: U.K
Quote:
Originally posted by Ketron_AJ:
Fzero,

You may contact HENRY01 above. I just finished his about 2 weeks ago and I belive he is pleased with the results (still finding out more stuff ofcourse), but he can give you first hand information (from a customer's point of view) what the SD1Plus-EXP sounds/looks/feels like. There are others on the Solton Club as well. To date, over 30 units have been done (currently working on 3) and climbing!!

Thanks,

AJ

How do I get details of the Solton Club you mention?
Chalky u.k

Top
#29316 - 01/11/06 12:00 PM Re: Sd1 vs Tyros 2
CHALKY u.k Offline
Member

Registered: 03/03/01
Posts: 44
Loc: U.K
Noel,You cold try BCK the distributer i'm sure they would demo the SD1. they are in Ongar. tel 01992 524442.
Chalky u.k

Top
#29317 - 01/11/06 09:59 PM Re: Sd1 vs Tyros 2
Ketron_AJ Online   content
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3274
Loc: Middletown, DE
CHALKY u.k,

Check your mail. If you need more info. on the EXPm kindly let me know.

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online