SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#288759 - 06/04/10 09:33 AM Music Alert!
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
Okay, Rory is probably going to be annoyed, but it's his own fault for posting some really sweet, sweet music over at the Bar where a lot of folks don't often go.

For those in need of a clinic on how to accompany a jazz vocalist on piano, I highly recommend checking him out. It's even more mind-blowing when you realize that he would be equally impressive playing 'Country Roads' on a banjo. Obviously I'm a big fan (even if our political stars aren't quite in alignment ), but heck, I'm a musician and I think most musicians have a lot of admiration and respect for great talent when they see it.
http://www.synthzone.com/ubbs/Forum35/HTML/001398.html

chas

#288760 - 06/04/10 11:02 AM Re: Music Alert!
Fran Carango Offline

Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
That is a fact...I also noticed Rory played keys using "black keys"...it made it easy for me to follow (play) along with Rory.. ..as in hard to play a wrong note..

Carolyn's selection of "standards" was great, not so common songs..including a couple of my favorites..

#288761 - 06/04/10 12:41 PM Re: Music Alert!
captain Russ Offline

Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
I know you've heard it from me before, but, almost best of all, besides all the talent, he's a genuinely modest, funny, intelligent kid. Most of the superior players I've met in my life are similar. They're so secure in their ability, all the paranoia, bitterness and jealousy you see in lesser players just isn't there.

He taught me! I previously didn't take country players seriously. He's one country player who can out "Jazz" this grumpy old "Jazz kat".

Rory's what being a musician is all about!
I couldn't have chosen a better "adopted kid"!

Russ

#288762 - 06/04/10 01:17 PM Re: Music Alert!
FAEbGBD Offline

Loc: Nashvville TN