SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#281152 - 02/10/10 02:27 AM VST's and arrangers..
Bachus Offline

Everyone by now must now about the stellar sound quallity of certain VST's. And certain arranger keyboards allready have an option for support of these VST's. (Wersi and Lionstracs)

But what an arranger needs is a dedicated set sounds that everyone has and use those sounds for the accompaniment tracks. If i use non standard sounds i can not share my styles with other people as they might not have the same sounds (VST's) installed. Extra sounds could be added to a style as samples, but extra VST's that need special progams to run are of a whole different order.

So all that leaves for the use of VSt's is mainly solo voices. So as a developer i would not invest in the extra hardware and software costs for VST's.

But............
It would be possible to add an software expansion (paid) to any keyboards that allows to connect to a PC and directly controll a piece of software running on the PC, this piece of software should be a VST host. over a gigabit ethernet cable there can be transported several audio channels and midi channels to and from the PC. And even the VST controll panel could be displayed as a popup on the keyboard (requiring a 1024x768 screensize)

To get a better idea about this technology its allready used on Muse receptor which allows full controll of the VST host and the VSt's of the receptor (Which is actually a computer running a VST host and VST's in a Linux environment) from a remote computer.
This technology we know as UNIWIRE and it uses minor resources compared to a full fledged audio/vst workstation.