SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#25009 - 12/01/98 04:17 PM importing samples into JV/XP series?
Anonymous
Unregistered

forgive me if these questions seem silly; i am not a musician, nor familiar with this stuff. my wife is interested in an electronic keyboard (accomplished pianist seeking fun new toy, composition aid, rehearsal aid, etc). on behalf of my wife, i am researching some "integration" issues.

at the moment, she is leaning towards a roland XP-80, but i suppose that if we found a controller with a great action, we could go with a JV-2080 instead, and sequence with software. for that matter, we have yet to look at the korg trinity line. as well, whatever way she decides to go, we could concievably end up with something like an XP-60 for travel/recitals.

all that said, my questions:

1) the korg trinity has a sampler, but with roland, can one sample/process using software or a module like the yamaha A3000, then import the result (on floppy, i presume) into the XP-60/80 and/or JV-2080?

2) are "blank" expansion cards available for the roland units to supply the user with additional capacity for his/her own forms/samples/patches?

my wife has a plethora of period instruments
on CD (can you say "lautenwerk"? :-), and
variations thereon, that she wants to have at her fingertips.

thanks!

#25010 - 12/08/98 10:06 PM Re: importing samples into JV/XP series?
Daniel Offline

Loc: Netherlands