SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#242946 - 09/20/08 10:33 AM Re: What's your choice for a small combo amp?
Jerry T Offline

Loc: Phila. 'burbs, Pa. USA
I refrained from mentioning the Barbetta Sona 31 because cassp noted that he was interested in staying under $300. Like many of us, I do music for a living, and I want to be certain that my tools are the best quality I can afford. I use the Sona 31 for my small restaurant gig and I chain a Sona 32 and the 31 for a larger restaurant that I do weekly. Of all the small combos that I've had over the years, Barbetta - IMHO - has the best range, and power per pound. I know that Donny didn't like the fact that the Barbettas are fan cooled. I've never noticed any fan noise and I paid close attention since Donny mentioned it in one of his posts. I only use the Barbettas for my regular small gigs - my main system is still the Bose stick
Ciao,
Jerry

#242947 - 09/20/08 10:49 AM Re: What's your choice for a small combo amp?
captain Russ Offline

Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
Dave-just picked up the little Groove Tubes unit yesterday. I'll use it tonight. Didn't know they made a sub. I'll check it out. this thing is pretty cool.

R.

#242948 - 09/22/08 11:57 AM Re: What's your choice for a small combo amp?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally posted by captain Russ:
Dave-just picked up the little Groove Tubes unit yesterday. I'll use it tonight. Didn't know they made a sub. I'll check it out. this thing is pretty cool.

R.

Hi Russ,

Please do let us know what you think of the Space Station Mk II. To clarify, Groove Tubes does not sell a powered sup specific to the Space Station. Any powered sub should do the trick. I have a Motion Sound SW-15, which is probably way overkill for the Space Station, but with the Traynor K4, my amp rig is great sounding.

Best Regards,

Dave

------------------
Wm. David McMahan
LearnMyKeyboard
JazzItUp Band