SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#236491 - 06/21/08 11:29 AM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
Diki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 12861
Loc: NW Florida
What's up, Mike...? Feeling a little frisky, today?

The same freedom you feel to chime in on a Roland thread is, of course, not allowable on a Yamaha one?

Talk about arrogance. If you can't take it, don't dish it out..

Top
#236492 - 06/21/08 01:16 PM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
Dnj Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 39311
Loc: NJ
Quote:
Originally posted by Fran Carango:
The Roland E-50 already answered that bell..

Same cover and make up tools..



But No Mic inputs & VH

Top
#236493 - 06/21/08 01:18 PM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
Dnj Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 39311
Loc: NJ
Quote:
Originally posted by Jerryghr:
Give him some credit. He had to work hard to get 3376 posts.



3376 posts? that's an apprentis here

Top
#236494 - 06/21/08 01:33 PM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
Diki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 12861
Loc: NW Florida
Quote:
Originally posted by Jerryghr:
Give him some credit. He had to work hard to get 3376 posts.


I've never worked hard in my life (I have PLAYED hard, though!)

Typing a few words certainly doesn't qualify as work, at least in MY book... YMMV

Top
#236495 - 06/21/08 11:37 PM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 4502
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Mike,
not quite sure if I'm understanding your problem correctly , are your midifiles GM & your soundsource a psr ?? if so,
you could try altering the drum sets in your midifiles. The PSR's have GM drumsets as well as the sets they use for the styles.
The drum mapping is slightly different.

The handclaps may also be the result of using a Standard Kit instead of a Brush kit if the above doesn't apply.

For editing my style conversions I always keep drum table lists of any of the keyboards I've owned. This way I can compare the drums between the korg, psr, my ex rolands etc.

best wishes
Rikki

Quote:
Originally posted by mikeathome1:
Does anyone know of an easy way to get rid of handclaps in a smf? Do you know what note it is or what it is supposed to be? can I transpose it?
I know I can probaly figure it out and it's probably been discussed before but I figure if anyone has a shortcut they would like to share...thanks.
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki

Korg PA4x, Korg PA3X, PSR S950, Band in a Box 2018
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#236496 - 06/22/08 06:03 AM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
Jerryghr Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/14/02
Posts: 1317
Loc: Buffalo, NY
Quote:
Originally posted by Dnj:

3376 posts? that's an apprentis here



Donny, I just checked your stats.

So your the one causing the Global warming.

Jerry



[This message has been edited by Jerryghr (edited 06-22-2008).]

Top
#236497 - 06/22/08 07:06 AM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
Dnj Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 39311
Loc: NJ

Top
#236498 - 06/22/08 07:10 AM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
mikeathome1 Offline
Member

Registered: 08/23/04
Posts: 1208
Loc: Syracuse NY
Thanks Riki I'll look into the brush kit, I did find some gm drum maps on the net.
_________________________
qqqwq@hotmail.com

Top
#236499 - 06/22/08 04:27 PM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 4502
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Mike,
you didn't say , but if you are using a psr as soundsource for gm midifiles & you have a pc sequencer try changing the bank changes from the default PSR to the GM2 drum sets within the psr
ie
changing

MSB127 to MSB120
LSB000 LSB000
at the beginning of the drum track, this should bring up the GM2 drum sets instead of the psr drum sets.

If you're actually using the psr sequencer to play the midifiles, I don't know how to do it, but I used to be able to access the internal GM2 drumsets in Style Record mode ( they were one level of folders back from the default psr drums in my psr1500.)
Can't see why they wouldn't also be available for sequencer editing mode, onboard.

Hand claps ( Midi note D#1/ Note no. 39) or on the keyboard it's note D#2, appears to be handclaps in most of the psr drumkits including the brushkit.

Wheras in the GM2 Brush Kit it's either a brush tap or a brush slap not sure off hand, which .

Your problem hopefully may be as simple as changing the Bank Change MSB127 to MSB120
in the Drum & Percussion Tracks
best wishes
Rikki

Quote:
Originally posted by mikeathome1:
Thanks Riki I'll look into the brush kit, I did find some gm drum maps on the net.
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki

Korg PA4x, Korg PA3X, PSR S950, Band in a Box 2018
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#236500 - 06/22/08 05:26 PM Re: PSR easy way to get rid of handclaps?
mikeathome1 Offline
Member

Registered: 08/23/04
Posts: 1208
Loc: Syracuse NY
Thanks Riki I'll give that a try also. I do edit the midi in power tracks on the pc then I put it on a thumb drive and play it as a song on the psr s 700. Some songs have the clap and some don't.
But on the pc using gm it is a ride cymbal but when I transfer over it comes out a hand clap.
I did find out on a couple of midis that if I transpose the d# on the drum track (ch 10)up one octave on the pc, it plays the ride cymbal instead of the hand clap on the psr.
Which to me, so far, is better than just erasing the hand clap. I've only had it (the psr) a couple of days so I've only tried it with a couple of files.

thanks again.
_________________________
qqqwq@hotmail.com

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online