SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#235032 - 05/28/08 07:58 AM Keys for a Guitarist's Home Studio
Guitar Guy Offline

I'm a guitar player. I pound around on the piano a little.

I am putting together a home studio. I am looking at keyboards/synths/workstations/whatever-other-label can be attached I've already spent more than I wanted to, but still need keys. I already have tons of great sounds on my computer, so sounds aren't *as big* a concern, but... you know what I'm sayin.

I almost pulled the trigger on a Yahaha MM-6, but the more I studied it, the less I liked the sequencer. It seems to be a recorder, not a sequencer. What does the braintrust here think?

What I am hoping to find is something with some true sequencing. Decent sounds would be an obvious plus. One option that seems to keep cropping up is a Casio WK-3300. I can't find a place to listen to one. Anyone here love-like-dislike-or-hate this unit?

I don't need anything roadworthy, since it will be permanently parked.

Did I miss any details?

I value any and all input.

#235033 - 05/28/08 08:05 AM Re: Keys for a Guitarist's Home Studio
Dnj Offline

#235034 - 05/28/08 08:12 AM Re: Keys for a Guitarist's Home Studio
chony Offline

Loc: New York
If you have a studio, why do you need an onboard sequencer?

I wouldn't touch any onboard sequencer if I have a computer within ten miles.

#235035 - 05/28/08 08:14 AM Re: Keys for a Guitarist's Home Studio
Guitar Guy Offline

Thanks for the quick reply Dnj.

I guess I did leave out a few details. I do have a usb-controller keyboard. I do like the idea of a stand alone keyboard with sequencing capability - at least until I get used to laying down ideas. It seems far quicker and less cumbersome for someone with limited keyboard skills.

Am I going about this with the wrong idea from the start?

#235036 - 05/28/08 08:38 AM Re: Keys for a Guitarist's Home Studio
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Guitar Guy: