SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#234786 - 05/25/08 09:57 AM Re: Is anyone using ear plugs and your experience with them?
Diki Offline

Loc: NW Florida
Now if only I could attenuate my darn voice as well!

#234787 - 05/25/08 09:41 PM Re: Is anyone using ear plugs and your experience with them?
Lucky2Bhere Offline

Eugene,

I see what you mean about the variables. The volume will sound different based on the environment (furnishings, etc). And the “standing waves.” Something is definitely happening here that wasn’t happening before. I’ve been playing the same piano for 20 years now. I need to see if I changed something that’s causing those waves to stand out?

I’ll experiment somewhat with moving things around and see if the sound changes any.

More important, I’m going to spend every day this week playing pianos at my local piano shop (they’ve invited me in in the hopes of selling me another piano) and also I forgot that the hospital down the block has a Steinway in the lobby, so I’ll be playing on there too. The Steinway I’ve played before. They tune it regularly and I was on it last week. No problem that I remember afterwards, but I’ll watch closely this week.

Yes, he tested my hearing and found only a slight hearing loss typical of someone my age. He also suggested this A-B test ($107) where they place sensors on your head and read them while introducing sound waves into your ear to test the inner ear (I think that’s what he said….I’ll inquire again on Tuesday).

Thanks, for this ear plug info should I elect to buy them. I should have realized that you get them through an audiologist if you want to have a proper fit. I think you just saved me wasting $160 there. I’ll pay more, but at least they’ll be comfortable and effective. And you said I’ll “get used to the low sound level….and start to enjoy them.”