SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 5 of 9 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >
Topic Options
#232164 - 04/15/08 11:24 PM Re: In response to Dan01's request to 'start my own thread'....
Kingfrog Offline

Loc: Myrtle beach SC
The reason I have gone from workstations to arranger keybords is becasue I am not a drummer, bass player, string arranger, horn player etc.....

When a singer/songwriter like Neil Diamond, James Taylor or Billy Joel writes a song. They do not write the arrangement. The call in arrangers/producers for the type of song they wrote. Michael Omartian, david Foster,Maurice White.....To write and hire the players to play those parts. In some cases the actual band mambers write their own parts...

THATS what an arranger does for me. I write the songs and pick up the "phone" and call my buddy "Quincy Jones" or "Count Basie" or David Foster.....whom in turn hire Steve GAdd, Towr of Power, Stanly clark, Liberty Divito and maybe King Curtiss.....

AS a writer I no longer have to play bass parts like a beginning bass player, or Drums...Not too many songwriters were virtuoso musicians. Many just plunked a few chords on the guitar IE Neil Diamond, James taylor,,,,,,and let the professionals do the rest.

Thats what the arranger keyboard does that no organ ever did. Bring real musicians to the table.
Casio PX-330
Martin DC Aura
Breedlove ATlas Solo
Bose MOD II PA

#232165 - 04/16/08 12:27 AM Re: In response to Dan01's request to 'start my own thread'....
abacus Offline

Loc: English Riviera, UK
If you want to play Jazz on a keyboard forget the style section, just stick with rhythm add a good set of bass pedals and a second keyboard (Yes folks it’s an organ) and play.
Alternatively get your self a quality drum machine and stick it by the side of the piano.