SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#231248 - 04/03/08 03:42 PM Simple Midi Question
shim Offline

Loc: USA
Hi, I'm a bit new to the world of computer recording (besides audacity), So I have a simple question about MIDI:

My Yamaha PSR1500 has a usb drive port, I use it with a Kingston flash drive, wtvr. Now what I want to know is: How come when you play back a recorded song or style on the PC from the flash drive, does it sound horrible?? it doesn't have the same quality as on the keyboard, so: how do you make it have the same or better quality on the PC?

Do I need some type of midi software? I know audaicity is free but what about for MIDI. Thank you all, Really.

Shim

#231249 - 04/03/08 04:20 PM Re: Simple Midi Question
Diki Online   content

Loc: NW Florida
If you play back the recorded MIDI file (SMF or .mid file) on your laptop or PC, it will by default play the file through the built-in GM synthesizer, NOT the PSR. These are invariably poorer in quality than the PSR.

You will have to set up the USB to transmit the MIDI from your laptop or PC to the PSR (if it is capable of this) or use a MIDI interface and send the MIDI down a MIDI cable to the PSR's MIDI ports (if it has them).

I am a Mac user, so you will need someone fluent in Windows to step you through this...

#231250 - 04/03/08 04:44 PM Re: Simple Midi Question
shim Offline

What I mean is: I don't want to play back PC midi files onto the keyboard, Rather I want to record the midi file ON TO my PC and have good quality on the PC. (for recording/putting on a website/converting to mp3 etc. What will I need for that?

Thanks for the reply!

Windows Users? Anyone?

#231251 - 04/03/08 05:15 PM Re: Simple Midi Question
KeithB Offline

Loc: Melbourne AUSTRALIA