Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#230794 - 03/30/08 10:22 AM Re: One more month of suffering with the S900
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
Quote:
Originally posted by ianmcnll:
they love the convenience of having everything in one unit.

That is a HUGE determining factor for many, many working musicians. Set up is time spent and time CHARGED for ..... use it to your advantage!

#230795 - 03/30/08 10:28 AM Re: One more month of suffering with the S900
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
Gary's right ... jazz isn't limited to song choices. Is the "Flintstones Theme" a jazz tune? If it's PLAYED like one, it is !
You can change the style of most anything to adapt to a new style. If you want a cool example of a few Jimmy Buffett tunes that cross the "jazz border" try:
Pencil thin mustasche(Swing), Volcano (Latin), Pirate Look at 40 (Bossa)
Jazz is a feeling and an interpretation, and while I am no expert, I can get the feeling accros to most people. Look at all the Broadway show tunes that get "jazzed up" .... I think Buffett has proven himself enough to the many generations of adoring fans that maybe it's time to educate the jazzers of his worth !

Most Jimmy fans won't like Coltrane .... I don't either for that matter, but I still appreiciate the talent and vision he showed. I just hated his tone.

#230796 - 03/30/08 01:04 PM Re: One more month of suffering with the S900
miden Offline

Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Dave:
Midi ddata from a seq track only tells the unit the harmony pitches, it still has to have a live signal from your mic in real time to work. Using seq data frees up your chord hand, or arranger track, and allows more specific harmonies.

With any harmonizer, you still have to sing in real time into the unit.

Sorry Dave I took it as a given that everyone would realise that!!

#230797 - 03/30/08 01:33 PM Re: One more month of suffering with the S900
miden Offline

Loc: The World
Quote: