SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#227589 - 02/22/08 07:21 PM T2 vs S900
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4719
Can someone tell me what I might expect BETTER on the T2 vs the S900?

I know about weight and speakers.

Thanks,
zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Nord 6D73/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/ATEM Mini Pro switcher/K&M stand

Top
#227590 - 02/22/08 07:33 PM Re: T2 vs S900
mikey_maestro Offline
Member

Registered: 07/12/07
Posts: 548
Loc: San Tan Valley, AZ
Hi Zuki,

A few of the differences I really like on the T2 are as follows.

aftertouch
3 layered voices
3 splitpoints
HD capable
usb drive quick acess
The keybed blows away any other psr
pop up screen

I won't hog all the points.
Can you send me your website link?




------------------
God Bless,
Mikey

www.mikeymaestro.com
www.balloonanimal.com
www.1000colorcards.com

Top
#227591 - 02/22/08 07:35 PM Re: T2 vs S900
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 43703
Zuki not that much .....
basically the Tilt Display & slightly better key-feel is about the only thing I'd import from the T2 to the S900, The T2 is too big & bulky & ergonomicly designed for transport also, I had one and dumped it fast .....I think you better think hard about this next adventure & just make $$$, and play the hell out of the S900 for now....until next year & see what comes along! What are we really trying to accomplish here?....I also have relinquished myself to this train of thought for a while.........



[This message has been edited by Dnj (edited 02-23-2008).]

Top
#227592 - 02/22/08 07:42 PM Re: T2 vs S900
kbrkr Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/19/02
Posts: 2866
Loc: Tampa, FL
There are many more voice and styles in the T2 over the S900. Plus, I don't think you can record to the hard disk with the S900.

------------------
Al Giordano
http://www.arrangerworld.com


Tyros 2, Korg Pa2xpro, Roland VK8-M, DW Collectors Series Drums, Roland SPD-S.
_________________________
Al

Pa4x - LD Systems Maui 28 - Mackie Thumps

Top
#227593 - 02/22/08 09:02 PM Re: T2 vs S900
George Kaye Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/24/99
Posts: 3305
Loc: Reseda, California USA
yes you can record to the USB thumb drive on the PSRS900. You have to buy a hard drive and install it on the Tyros2 but all you need on the PSRS900 is a basic USB inexpensive thumb drive. On the T2 you can overdub audio tracks where on the 900 you can only record one stereo track.


------------------
George Kaye
Kaye's Music Scene
Reseda, California
818-881-5566
www.kayesmusicscene.com
_________________________
George Kaye
Kaye's Music Scene (Closed after 51 years)
West Hills, California
(Retired 2021)

Top
#227594 - 02/22/08 11:01 PM Re: T2 vs S900
Scott Langholff Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 06/09/02
Posts: 3163
Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Someone who sugguests there's not much difference between a Tryos and a PSR is not making use of the incredible sound of 3 layered voices of horn sections, rich organ sounds and violin and orchestral sections and aftertouch, especially to me on guitar that will become hard to live without once used properly.

If those things are not used, then you have the players who say they sound the same. Which only makes me think how much they are missing either through choice or not knowing it's there or how to make full use of it.

I may have been spoiled after years of playing top of the line home organs.

The PSR's are great kb's, but once hooked on the couple features I mentioned, and really milking those inflections using aftertouch etc, it is a bit of a let down not having those features available.

If those sounds and features aren't important to the player then the PSR should do the trick. But to me, the difference would be sounding great on a PSR, but going WOW everytime you play a Tyros

Best
Scott

Top
#227595 - 02/22/08 11:15 PM Re: T2 vs S900
rolandfan Offline
Member

Registered: 07/29/02
Posts: 935
Loc: South Africa
Ive had many sleepless nights thinking about whether to buy t2 or 900. Ive realised that i dont need upper 3. I can use one touch settings to set up voices. I mainly layer with strings so its fine. Aftertouch i never used on my T1 so i wont miss that. S.art strings and s.art brass are absent but luckily for me i only use live strings. Brass ..yes i would have loved s.art brass but i can live with it. Other than that i can tell u the 900 is equal to the t2...and i do want to save $1700...and still be able to say i own a keyboard as good as t2.

Top
#227596 - 02/23/08 12:15 AM Re: T2 vs S900
rolandfan Offline
Member

Registered: 07/29/02
Posts: 935
Loc: South Africa
The s900 sounds and styles put the tyros 1 away. I love the fact that the s900 is even lighter than tyros 1 .. 11.5kg im sure the missing t2 styles can be found on the net and played on s900. The only thing that does concern me is that t2 and even my old t1 had live drumkits. S900 does not. But s900 styles have more megavoices in the styles than t1. And i think s900 has mega voices in the multi pads which t1 did not

Top
#227597 - 02/23/08 12:55 AM Re: T2 vs S900
rolandfan Offline
Member

Registered: 07/29/02
Posts: 935
Loc: South Africa
T2 has one extra dsp than 900. Is this because of upper 3? Effects and eq editing etc appears to be same as t2.. Am i correct?

Top
#227598 - 02/23/08 04:35 AM Re: T2 vs S900
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10606
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
Hi Zuki,

I had a Tyros2 for several months...did a lot of demos with it and even used it for personal gigging.

It's a beauty, but once I played the S900, I knew it was for me and my kind of playing style.

Simpler, but every bit as effective as the Tyros2 in my opinion...Audio to USB a real cool feature, and the SA voices are easily on par with the big boy.

Didn't miss the Tyros2's aftertouch or the 3 RH voices...at least for my style of playing.

Advice is like Castor oil...easy to give, but hard to take...so I won't subject you to mine, but I have a gut feeling you will prefer the S900 for your type of gigging.

Ian
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
#227599 - 02/23/08 04:58 AM Re: T2 vs S900
mikey_maestro Offline
Member

Registered: 07/12/07
Posts: 548
Loc: San Tan Valley, AZ
zuki

the s900 is truley a wonderful alternative to the Tyros 2. I can't afford a 2nd T2 for a backup so I will be buying a s900.

Call me if you decide to go that route. i have price shopped the crap out of it and have the lowest price around I believe.

I have a written quote from a dealer I'd gladly give to you. Guitar Center will match a written quote if you wanted to buy it local

you can email me privately at djmikey1@aol.com if you'd like my help

------------------
God Bless,
Mikey

www.mikeymaestro.com
www.balloonanimal.com
www.1000colorcards.com

Top
#227600 - 02/23/08 07:15 AM Re: T2 vs S900
travlin'easy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 15566
Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
Zuki,

I used to say the PSR-3000 was the best bang for the buck, but that title has now been relinquished to the PSR S900.

JMHO,

Gary

------------------
Travlin' Easy
_________________________
PSR-S950, TC Helicon Harmony-M, Digitech VR, Samson Q7, Sennheiser E855, Custom Console, and lots of other silly stuff!

K+E=W (Knowledge Plus Experience = Wisdom.)

Top
#227601 - 02/23/08 09:56 AM Re: T2 vs S900
mdorantes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/25/00
Posts: 1211
Loc: Queretaro, Mexico
Hello everyone:

I own a T2 and as a backup also have the S900, very NICE. The S900 does not have all the S.A. sounds that the T2, Organs, Strings, Brass, etc. Besides the Mega sounds too.
Is a GREAT keyboard for the money.
I did have to make substitutions in my registrations with similar sounds in the S900 and it works perfect.
I also own a PA 800 that provides me with many different sounds and styles that are VERY useful too.
For one Hour jobs that also are in small venues I have use the S900 with very pleasing results, no need to bring external amplification and very LIGHT too. I am happy with it. So go for it Mikey_maestro and Zuki.

------------------
mdorantes
_________________________
mdorantes

Top
#227602 - 02/23/08 01:23 PM Re: T2 vs S900
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 6020
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Zuki,
might be worth your while working out what it is that you don't like about the S900,
and try to find out if the T2 is any different in that respect.

If there's no difference, is it worth upgrading at this stage??
I would imagine Yamaha could be due for a new top of the line arranger this year??
The T2's been round for a while.

best wishes
Rikki


[QUOTE]Originally posted by zuki:
[B]
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki 🧸

Korg PA5X 88 note
SX900
Band in a Box 2022

Top
#227603 - 02/23/08 06:18 PM Re: T2 vs S900
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4719
Thanks all,

After playing 7 more jobs this weekend, I've decided to NOT knock a good thing.

I was rebooked for several months after my first performance at a high paying Friday night retirement community (2 hours).

I'm booked 50x per month and it's growing from there.

All of this from behind a Yamaha. It's because it can handle the live arrangements I throw its way. For my style, no other board can do that, despite their superior features.

I'm stupid for bashing the drums and seeking something different. I'm really the only one who cares.

I'm going for the T2 as my live board and the 900 in my studio. I'll add an external harmonizer and just march forward.

Now, anyone want a Ketron SD-5?? Please??

zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Nord 6D73/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/ATEM Mini Pro switcher/K&M stand

Top
#227604 - 02/24/08 01:32 AM Re: T2 vs S900
jamman Offline
Member

Registered: 08/24/04
Posts: 666
Loc: City of Angels in the golden s...
I can understand. http://www.synthzone.com/ubbs/Forum37/HTML/017054.html http://www.synthzone.com/ubbs/Forum37/HTML/016829.html

[This message has been edited by jamman (edited 02-24-2008).]

Top
#227605 - 02/24/08 05:48 AM Re: T2 vs S900
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10606
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
Zuki,

Doing as many jobs as you8 do, the boredom factor can enter and you can become tired of the same old sound...that's when the temptation to try something new will most likely rear it's head.

Happens to all of us...it will pass.

Ian
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
#227606 - 02/24/08 07:29 AM Re: T2 vs S900
travlin'easy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 15566
Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
Ian,

When you get to the point of bordom, the best relief is not to purchase a new keyboard, but instead just download a new batch of files and work them into your regular routine--it's just like buying a new keyboard, but a whole lot less exspensive. Works for me!

Gary

------------------
Travlin' Easy
_________________________
PSR-S950, TC Helicon Harmony-M, Digitech VR, Samson Q7, Sennheiser E855, Custom Console, and lots of other silly stuff!

K+E=W (Knowledge Plus Experience = Wisdom.)

Top
#227607 - 02/24/08 07:51 AM Re: T2 vs S900
JIMSAX Offline
Member

Registered: 09/11/07
Posts: 44
Loc: Baltimore MD USA
DITTO GARY!!

JIM

TWO TY 2S
_________________________
JIMSAX

Top
#227608 - 02/24/08 08:03 AM Re: T2 vs S900
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10606
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
Quote:
Originally posted by travlin'easy:
Ian,

When you get to the point of boredom, the best relief is not to purchase a new keyboard, but instead just download a new batch of files and work them into your regular routine--it's just like buying a new keyboard, but a whole lot less expensive. Works for me!


You're right Gary...new styles, and maybe even some new sound combos, always give a keyboard a new lease on life.

Playing the same arrangements/tunes with different styles also helps.

If it I hadn't been so struck on the S-900's SA Sax and SA Concert Guitar, I'd still be using the 3k.

Ian


[This message has been edited by ianmcnll (edited 02-24-2008).]
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin, Diki, Kerry 



Help keep Synth Zone Online