SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#223759 - 01/05/08 06:09 AM Re: Does anyone have a Roland E-60?
keysvocalssax Offline

Loc: Miami FL nov-may/Lakeville CT ...
cassp, i have been playing the E60 for a few months. before that i had an is35 from the classic korg i-series and a Technics kn2600. the E60 has some very serious shortcomings in its price range, but it strengths are unmatched.

at 28 lbs in a sleek design, it is a delight to just pick up and carry under your arm and lay on your back seat. no having to case/uncase, go on roller etc. the 76 keys make so many things easier and more pleasurable re piano, splits, layers, etc. i enjoyed my 61 before but now i am so spolied by 76 i won't go back. the key action is excellent.
it has really improved my touch. some things are very easy to accomplish and navigate, like changing sounds, mixer, etc. the cover feature is very cool. styles are limited but
i only use bass/drums and most blend nicely in the
background and are not intrusive, just supportive.

on the other hand, the tap tempo button, after an os
stability improvement, is no longer a horror but it is NOT
accurate..i never had this problem with Technics or Korg.
there is no mic input, you can only program one of the
pedals since the sustain is only sustain. and there is no
option for multipedals. the live navigation is sadly inadequate, there are so many "junk" buttons that could have been assigned to more useful purpose.

this is not a middle-of-the-road board. I happen to love its strengths so much i adjust and live with the weaknesses. there is nothing in its class that is anywhere as good as the E60 is..or anywhere as bad as the E60 is.

------------------
Miami Mo

#223760 - 01/05/08 07:53 AM Re: Does anyone have a Roland E-60?
cassp Offline

Loc: Motown