SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#222229 - 11/30/07 04:36 AM Re: Loading midifiles on the E80
Runedog Offline

Loc: Grimsby, North East Lincolnshi...
Diki, actually you are right so, here goes:

I was a pro drummer for many years and have just (up to now anyway) dabbled with keyboards. My first keyboard was a Korg so I guess this is why I took myself back along this route with the purchase of the PA800.

I have owned several Roland products in the past and I really like their build quality and I find them easy to navigate etc. Taking into account that I am registered blind (although I do have limited sight) navigation etc really has to figure highly with me.

Anyway, after using the Korg for awhile I kept getting pulled back to the E80. Although many Korg users told me I could do loads more with the PA800 (which I did not doubt) my main criteria was just to enjoy playing keyboard.

On receiving my E80 I must say it was the right move for me: The navigation around the keyboard I personally find easier than the Korg. The touch-screen is easier on the eye, brighter and, the reassuring 'click' you get whenever you select something just adds to the class of this keyboard.

I personally find the keys feel better than on the Korg board. The aftertouch seems more precise and the keys seem to have a more expensive feel to me. I can now understand why many Roland users rave about the feel of the keys on the G70, this is a keyboard I am looking to get as well as my E80.

Soundwise: I have heard some negative reviews on the forum regarding the G70 sounds. Well, again, and this is my personal opinion, I find the E80 sounds superior to the Korg PA800! Its all a matter of taste I know, and, having said this, I tried and did not like the Yammy Tyros 1 either. Cannot speak for the T2 has I have never tried this board.

The default piano on the E80 far surpasses the PA800's default piano to my ears too.