Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#220104 - 09/14/04 06:48 AM Re: Instant Piano for hopelessly busy people
drdalet Offline

Loc: Amersfoort, Netherlands
Quote:
Originally posted by MacAllcock:
When I started learning piano some 40 (ulp)years ago it was "Classical or nothing" so I didn't hit a tune I recognised for two years, until I had done the "basics" (scales, learning to read music, etc etc). Luckily I could play by ear anyway so I could bash away at something I sort of knew to avoid getting really hacked off at the formal stuff.

I recognize this totally. I had accordeon lessons for 9 years and could never have stayed that long if I couldn't play what I wanted to play - the popsongs of those days. The first song I ever played without lessons was True Love (1956), because an uncle brought an accordeon for me. Later on I taught myself Beatlesongs from my records. I did the same for other music too, because the arrangements I had to play were simplified scores and I wanted it to sound like the records.
I agree that if you totally depend on notes, music lessons will not satisfy. Although nowadays things have changed a bit. The arrangers are a big help and so are the fake books.

------------------
drdalet

#220105 - 09/14/04 07:04 AM Re: Instant Piano for hopelessly busy people
SemiLiveMusic Offline

Loc: Louisiana, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Jerry Mullikin:
So, Uncle Dave, and all others who would not mind imparting some knowledge to a novice, what would you recommend as a good video, or other method for helping to learn to play? I have a great keyboard (Genesys) and all I do right now is, pick out tunes with one finger, and play along with the included styles. I would like to learn to use all the fingers on both hands and all the capabilities of this great instrument. I am 67 years old and would like to learn how to play compotently before I turn toes up. Many thanks to all who provide answers to this query.