SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#217432 - 03/10/04 11:31 AM Newbie question - today compared to 10 years ago
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm a guitar player who recently started recording using a Yamaha AW16G hard disk recorder (this is a hobby, I'm a lawyer during the day, and a husband and father to 4 kids during the rest of the time).

I'm looking to add some synth sounds (including drums) and looking for bang for the buck at this point.

I know Casio doesn't have the greatest rep, but I've checked out the WK3000 and it seems pretty cool.

Two questions: is the WK3000 as good as, say, some semi pro KORGS/Yamahas of 10-12 years ago?

Alternatively, what can you recommend for something sub $500?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Bluesky.

#217433 - 03/10/04 12:55 PM Re: Newbie question - today compared to 10 years ago
The Pro Offline

Loc: Atlanta, Georgia
It's always the bang for the buck (BFTB) part that's fun.

Considering you have a good recorder, you probably don't need the Tascam Pocketstudio 5 which has a GM synth built-in. This should get more discussion here because it's a simple arranger too! Good BFTB. http://www.tascam.com/product_info.php?pid=274&nav=pocketstudio

You obviously have a computer so also good BFTB would be softsynths and sequencing programs. I would recommend Band in A Box because it's easy and comes with a basic Roland GM softsynth program. Also Power Tracks Pro is one of the best BFTB sequencer packages if you want to do more. http://www.pgmusic.com.

You can do a lot with softsynths now. But first, here's a jewel I haven't shared here until now - I found a nice freeware generic low latency ASIO driver program called ASIO4ALL that will work with any standard Windows soundcard: http://michael.tippach.bei.t-online.de/asio4all/
This means that you can use any midi or usb controller to play softsynths with very low latency.