SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#215070 - 12/22/04 07:37 PM Good Newb Practice
Pennywizz6 Offline

Loc: Shakopee, MN, USA
Hello,

Im totally new to keyboarding and got an Xp-60. Ive picked up really fast, its most likely due to my skills typing. My fingures are fast (my left is quite a bit slower). I can pound away and improvise to make something to sound pretty good but what id like to know is there any online practice guide to keyboarding? Im having a hard time having my left and right had to play in sync because my right is so much faster.

Thanks!

Phil

#215071 - 12/22/04 10:56 PM Re: Good Newb Practice
keybplayer Offline

Loc: CA
You must be right handed. You will need to exercise your left playing skills by concentrating on your left hand playing. Put some effort into it. If you can, try and increase your left hand skills by playing an extra hour or more devoted to your left hand playing. You may need to use just your left hand during this time. No right hand playing at all.

Here is a good site that has free Piano and Keyboard lessons with the option of getting the full version lessons on CDROM/DVD and also even from the web site I believe.

Play Piano Today

Happy playing,
Mike

[This message has been edited by keybplayer (edited 12-22-2004).]

#215072 - 12/23/04 04:38 AM Re: Good Newb Practice
kbrkr Offline

Loc: Tampa, FL
Phil,

To keep things super simple for you, the BEST way to improve your left hand is to practice your scales. You must practice with both hands, all twelve keys, start at 60 bpm or slower until you can navigate the keys and the scale perfectly without making a mistake. Get a hold of a good all around beginner piano book and learn the fingering for the scales. If you practice this 1 hour a day, you will improve your fingering and synchronization of both hands dramatically.