SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#209779 - 01/21/03 01:23 PM Sound modules in real-time
Evangelical Offline

Loc: San Diego
I added the XV-5050 to my PSR-9000 a couple weeks ago. The folks at Roland have put some really nice patches into this baby and I'm very happy with the puchase. The one thing that bothers me is that setting up the keyboard for different songs is not quite as quick as pressing a button for the registrations or the music database anymore.

Since I'm new to sound modules I was wondering how yall use them in day-to-day life (I don't mean in a sequencer but in real-time). Do you write song names and patch numbers on a piece of paper? That's a bit cumbersome but maybe not avoidable. Or is there a way to trigger the correct patches from the registrations or from the MDB that I haven't figured out how to do yet?
Thanks for any pointers!
ev

#209780 - 01/21/03 02:22 PM Re: Sound modules in real-time
Dreamer Offline

Loc: Rome - Italy
Ev,
I have an XV3080 and have saved my favorite patches to the user bank; this enables me to trigger them sending midi program change messages (1-128 or 0-127) from my keyboard, should the need arise. However, such units have so many sounds and patches (especially when you add the expansion cards) that 128 programs are simply not enough. On the other hand only a sequencer can send bank and program changes (at least I think...)
Final consideration: it's not easy to blend together sounds coming from different keyboards and modules; this usually takes also a lot of work to tweak the volume of all the patches to match the sounds in your keyboard.
More than in a live situation, I have found my XV 3080 extremely useful when I need a "special" sound to record a digital track.

#209781 - 01/21/03 04:07 PM Re: Sound modules in real-time
Evangelical Offline

Loc: San Diego
Thank you Andrea!