SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#203423 - 10/06/01 07:45 PM Need advice !
Arbaz Offline

Hello there everybody,
I am trying to setup my computer for recording, my recording needs are simple I want to record my keyboard and vocal into computer at max quality (24-bit 96 kHz) on two separate channels (not stereo but 2 analog channels because even after panning the sound there is always mix in stereo) now what do you think I will need? I was thinking about getting a Midiman Audiophile 2496 by M-Audio, Fostex VM08 8X2 Digital Mini Mixer, Alesis M1 Active Biamp Reference Monitors but all these things are getting very expensive for me can some recommend and alternative for a lower price? I just want to record my keyboard and vocal on two separate channels live (yes I know why live?? ) so I need minimum 2 analog input audio card please help me as I am new to all this recording stuff, but yes I will prefer to keep the quality as clean as possible and pleas do also tell me what is the difference between a condenser mic and a regular mic? I mean is it better to use condenser mic does it really improve the quality that much?

#203424 - 10/08/01 07:59 AM Re: Need advice !
fkara Offline

Loc: houston, texas, usa
There are so many choices out there.
But you can still find nice decent comp audio interface cards. Most of them also come with bundled audio software that can give you at least 8 channels of audio recording capability.
One most important issue is your PC's compatibility. Once you install everything and be ready to run it, you may experience some problems, just because your mother board or chip set or some other thing (windows OS) may not be compatible.
You may start looking some user groups for advice like user groups at www.digidesign.com for protools users group. Check www.steinberg.net for nuendo and cubase user groups. check cakewalk user groups. They all have excellent posts for system configurations.