SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#194348 - 11/14/05 09:28 AM Re: Please help me choose a microphone!
coca Offline

These are my choices. All of these microphones are requires phantom power but they sound awesome.

Shure Beta 87 (for female vocal)
Neumann KMS-105 (both male and female vocal)
AKG eb-535 (male vocal)
Blue 8-ball (classic look and blue technology)

Kevin

#194349 - 11/14/05 11:08 AM Re: Please help me choose a microphone!
MikeTV Offline

Loc: UK
Quote:
Originally posted by STAM:
Has anybody here tried the Shure beta 58A?
It's supposed to be much better than SM58.

Hi Stam

I have been using an SM58A Beta for many years and also have a plain SM58 as a spare.

I wouldn't say the difference between them was huge. They both have a similar tonal character - slightly "nasal" - with the Beta version sounding a little colder and slightly more neutral. I actually think that the plain SM58 has a rather more pleasing warmer character than the Beta version.

Feedback rejection is very good on both, but they are a little different. The plain SM58 is a cardioid pattern (dead to sounds from the rear), whereas the Beta 58 is a hyper-cardioid (dead to sounds around 45 degrees from the rear, but will pick up some sound from the extreme rear). Which one gives you most gain before feedback will depend on how your gear is situated relative to the mic. The monitors, in particular, will make a big difference.

These two Shures are both bomb proof reliable, have good feedback rejection and are not overly sensitive to handling noise. In terms of sound quality, they have a rather uninteresting, somewhat "lighweight", clear, but "trouble-free" sound. A good vocalist will usually sound OK to excellent through either one, an average vocalist will sound at least tolerable.

Essentially, they both score well because of an absence of any significant minus points, rather than by being exceptionally good in any one area.