SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#193747 - 08/22/06 06:04 PM Hello!
W Tracy Parnell Online   content

Loc: NY
I am a bass player/vocalist with nearly 30 years experience. Just introducing myself and I want to add that I have been lurking here for some time. I have enjoyed this forum greatly and have just about found the nerve to start an OMB project-something I have always wanted to do. I played in mostly country bands but haven't done so for a couple years (guys got too old to carry equipment).

I have been fooling around with various keyboards for about three years now. I have had a Yamaha PSR 740, PSR 1100 and PSR 295. I finally decided that owning "too much" keyboard was not smart for me from an economic standpoint since I don't play too well and mostly use the keyboard for recording. I settled on a Casio WK-3200 which has a decent piano sound and enough others to keep me happy. I still do regret selling the 1100 though.

Anyway, the point is I don't see my playing improving to the point that I could gig with an arranger so I am looking to start with a guitar and CD backing tracks. I will probably begin in Nursing Home and Assisted Living Facilities and see if I can expand from there. I don't live in a great area economically but hopefully there is some work out there for me.

In closing, I just want to thank ALL the members here for a great forum that helped me learn much about arranger keyboards and alot about music and OMB in general BTW! I don't think I could have gotten started without this place and also some great encouragement from a guitar playing friend of mine who will probably help me out on gigs, especially at first.