SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#192224 - 06/19/06 12:17 AM Is Korg Pa50 as flexible as PSR 3000
Sarah Offline

Loc: Perth, WA, Australia
Hi, I'm in the market to buy a keyboard for the first time (I have always used a piano), and I believe that an arranger keyboard is best for what I want to do (write original songs).

I'm deciding between the Korg 50 or 60 and the Yamaha PSR 3000. I had the Yamaha 3000 explained well to me by the shop assistant but the other shop who sells the Korg had a salesman who really didn't seem to know what he was talking about and seeing as I'm a complete newbie I need more help.

Sooo......my question. If using a Style in the Korg, can I cut out any instruments I choose whenever I like? Does the korg have the same flexibility in arranging that the PSR 300 seems to have. Is it user friendly for a newbie like me?

Also, in your opinion which is the best keyboard to go for keeping in mind I will never use alot of styles. I only write contemporary ballads and some pop. I'm not into rock or jazz or big band or world etc.

Also, the keys are nicer to play on the korg and it's cheaper so i'm leaning toward that, but want to make an educated decision.

Thankyou for any help.

#192225 - 06/19/06 03:02 AM Re: Is Korg Pa50 as flexible as PSR 3000
adimatis Offline

Loc: Oradea, RO
hey sarah, welcome!
i am sure you'll get enough answers to your question, and also if you search among the previous posts, you'll be able to take a good decision.
if you got the chance to try both of these instruments, that's already very good. your ears are the best judge when come about sounds and styles.
as a previous pa50 owner, i can tell you i was quite happy with my keyboard, the sounds are good and styles are modern. still, i didnt like the os, i thought was too many pages in the menus, etc.
features wise, probably is more customizable than psr.