SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#192040 - 02/20/06 03:27 AM Re: Shmaltz.....is there such a word?
Stephenm52 Offline

Loc: USA
Originally posted by Cgiles
Quote:
You may also squeak by if your professional musical ambitions don't extend beyond the local nursing home or perhaps the coffee shop next door to one.

Well, it's Monday morning so you didn't ruin my Sunday or Monday morning for that matter.

Here's my 2 cents:
Back in the mid 70s when I was an aspiring piano student it became very apparent I would be better suited to enter the business school at the University of Rhode Island than try to become a struggling musician playing "Classical Music" For most of my adult years I simply played my grand piano at home. Spending much of time playing things like the Pathetique Sontata (Bethoveen), The Revoltionary Etude( Chopin). Allegro Barbaro (Bartok). Pictures at an Exhibition (Mussorsky). Also had some fun playing some of the Emerson, Lake and Palmer stuff. Fun yes it was to me but much of that didn't appeal to many others. BTW, I swore I'd never play a song like " Tie the Yellow Ribbon Round the Old Oak Tree" and other "Schmalz" That music was for others, not for me.